Posted on

More candidates added to ballot for General Election

More candidates added to ballot for General Election More candidates added to ballot for General Election
By Jo Ann Spieth-Saylor, Editor, [email protected]

Harrison Countians will see more contested races on the Nov. 8 General Election ballot now that the two major parties have their candidates lined up.

Most of the vacancies in the May Primary Election were on the Democrat ticket. Those, and others, were filled by the July 5 deadline.

Locally, there are a couple of Independent candidates who also will be on the ballot in November.

The Harrison County Council District 3 seat will have a three-way race, with Republican incumbent Holli Baker Castetter challenged by Democrat Adam Schneider and Independent Jesse Sater.

The other Independent candidate is Darin Duncan, who is challenging Republican Brad Wiseman for the County Commissioner District 3 seat. Jim Heitkemper is the current officeholder, but he was defeated in the Primary by Wiseman, who chose to seek that office rather than run again for his county council District 4 seat.

Republican Jake Blackman defeated Scott Jones in the Primary for Wiseman’s seat, while the Democrats didn’t have a candidate. Filling the vacancy is Graylin Porter, the current chair of the local Democrat party.

Other local county contested races include:

•Treasurer — Republican Christa Day and Democrat Leisa J. Emily. (Debbie Dones was ineligible to seek re-election due to term limits.)

•County Council District 2 — Republican Joe Kellum, who defeated incumbent Ross Schulz in the Primary, and Democrat Sarah Blessing.

•Franklin Township Trustee — Republican David C. Hussung, a Republican, and Democrat Tim Bridges.

Franklin Township Advisory Board — Republicans David Brengman and William A. Rowett, both incumbents, and Jerry L. Luttman and Democrats Christina Glomb, Laura Olinger and Dale (Chip) White.

•Harrison Township Trustee — Republican Mark Strange, who is completing Jimmie Mayfield’s term, and Democrat Leah Porter.

•Harrison Township Advisory Board — Republicans Sean R. Davis, Rhonda J. Rhoads and James (Jim) Smith and Democrats Johnathan Eve, Ruthanna Hart and Cheryl I. (East) Lone.

•Heth Township Advisory Board — Republicans Gerald Jacobs (incumbent), Doug Totten and Gary Wiseman and Democrat Andrew Eschbacher (incumbent).

•Jackson Township Advisory Board — Incumbents Rick R. Crecelius, Keith W. Pinaire and Eric M. Wise, all Republicans, and Democrats Robert H. Morris and Cody Mousty.

•Morgan Township Trustee — Republican Wyman Lee Childers and Democrat Frederick A. Uhl, the incumbent.

•Morgan Township Advisory Board — Republicans Charles Atkins, Leland a. Krush and incumbent Travis McAfee and Democrats Wayne Jacobi, Nancy Perryman and Jim Slucher.

•Posey Township Trustee — Republican Teresa Sutton, the incumbent, and Democrat Joan M. Kingsley.

•Posey Township Advisory Board — Republicans John M. Crosby, Tammie D. Crosby and Lynette Klinstiver, an incumbent, and Democrat Susan May, an incumbent.

•Taylor Township Trustee — Republican Leigh Lancia and Democrat Tana Miller, who is completing the term of the late Wayne Gettelfinger.

•Taylor Township Advisory Board — Republicans Maggie Abart-Briles, Howard W. Christy IV and Pam Wate, an incumbent, and Democrat Candace J. Stewart, an incumbent.

•Washington Township Advisory Board — Republicans JoAnna Barks and Stefanie Bliss, both incumbents, and Chris Schneider and Democrat Tanda Ems, an incumbent.

•Webster Township Advisory Board — Republican incumbents Oren L. Chumley and Joey Rosbottom, along with Samuel Hecht, and Democrat Daniel Thomas McPhillips, an incumbent.

Unopposed on the General Election ballot for county offices will be Circuit Judge John T. Evans, Prosecuting Attorney J. Otto Schalk, County Auditor Chad Shireman, Sheriff Nick Smith, County Assessor Lorena (Rena) A. Stepro and County Council District 1 Kyle S. Nix; all are Republicans and the current officeholders.

Also, the following races are uncontested: Blue River Township Trustee (Michael Beyerle, Republican incumbent) and Advisory Board (Glenna Binkley, Fred Churchill and Darcy Kamer, all Republicans and incumbents); Boone Township Trustee (Linda King, Republican incumbent) and Advisory Board (Kevin Crosier, Shelia Beanblossom Jackson and Jessica Terry, all Republicans and incumbents); Heth Township Trustee (Teresa Eschbacher, Republican incumbent); Jackson Township Trustee (Joseph E. [Joey] Martin, Republican incumbent); Spencer Township Trustee (Aaron Scott, Republican incumbent) and Advisory Board (Justin R. Byerly, Jared S. Goldman and incumbent Bruce Hawkins, all Republicans); Washington Township Trustee (Jeremy Wathen, Republican incumbent); and Webster Township Trustee (Isaac Dean Brown, Republican incumbent).

Harrison County voters will also be able to mark their ballot for State Senator District 47 — Republican Gary Byrne, who is completing Erin Houchin’s term, and Democrat Kathleen Forte — and for State Representative District 70, which see Republican incumbent Karen Engleman challenged by Democrat Jason Joe Shemanski.

Three candidates — Republican Erin Houchin, Democrat Matthew Fyfe and Libertarian Tonya Millis — are seeking the U.S. Representative District 9 seat currently held by Trey Hollingsworth, who is not seeking re-election.

Republican Todd Young is seeking another term as U.S. Senator for Indiana; his challengers are Democrat Thomas M. McDermott Jr. and Libertarian James M. Sceniak.

Candidates for Indiana’s Secretary of State are Republican Diego Morales, Democrat Destiny Wells and Libertarian Jeffrey Maurer.

Seeking the Auditor of State office are incumbent Tera Klutz, a Republican, Democrat ZeNai Brooks and Libertarian John Andrew Schick.

Republican Daniel Elliott and Democrat Jessica McClellan are running for state treasurer.

The General Election also will include school board races.

The first day a person can file a petition to be a school board candidate is Wednesday, July 27, with the deadline to file at noon Friday, Aug. 26.

Voter registration for the November General Election will conclude at the end of the business day on Tuesday, Oct. 11. To register, visit the Harrison County Circuit Court office in the downtown courthouse, call the office at 812-738-4289 or visit

Candidates in contested races will be profiled closer to the Nov. 8 General Election.