Posted on

Burgher, Weber named MSC all-conference

Burgher, Weber named MSC all-conference Burgher, Weber named MSC all-conference
By Brandon Miniard, Sports Writer, [email protected]

With the girls’ basketball season drawing to a close, the Mid-Southern Conference released its all-conference awards last week.

Harrison County received solid representation on the MSC all-conference team as Corydon Central junior wing Ava Weber and North Harrison senior wing Diana Burgher were both named to the 10-player lineup. In addition to Weber, junior guard Bailey Orme and freshman guard Josie Vaughn were named honorable mentions for the Lady Panthers.

Weber led the way for the Lady Panthers with a team-best 20.1 points and 7.8 rebounds per game, along with finishing third with 2.6 assists. Vaughn finished second in scoring with 9.8 points and assists with 3.4 per game while also finishing tied with Weber for second with 3.5 steals. Orme led the team with 4.3 dimes and four steals while finishing third in scoring with 9.2 points.

The trio of Lady Panthers led their squad to a 21-3 record while also finishing second in the MSC standings and overcoming a difficult road to making the sectional championship game.

After the mid-season departure of Ali Saunders, Burgher took over as the Lady Cats’ top scorer. The 6-foot-1 wing led the Lady Cats with 15.4 points, 8.5 rebounds and 2.1 blocks per game. Her production was not enough to overcome the loss of Saunders as the Lady Cats lost their final nine games, including an overtime battle against Madison Consolidated in the first round of sectional, to finish the season at 9-13.

Joining Weber and Burgher on the All-Conference Team are Kynidi Mason-Striverson (Silver Creek), Emme Rooney (Silver Creek), Sidney Sierota (Silver Creek), Natalie Noel (Salem), Abigail Ratts (Salem), Maddy Hackman (Brownstown Central), Kennedy Coleman (Charlestown) and Demaria King (Charlestown).

Rounding out the All-Conference Honorable Mentions are Tatum McFarland (Charlestown), Kyia McKinley (Eastern) and Ellie Richardson (Scottsburg).