Posted on

Deadline nears to file as candidate

Deadline nears to file as candidate Deadline nears to file as candidate

The list of people seeking to serve as an elected official continues to grow. However, it may not be complete as the deadline to file is noon Friday.

Candidates as of yesterday afternoon (Tuesday) in Harrison County are (* indicates incumbent):

Circuit Court Judge — *John T. Evans, Republican.

Prosecutor — *J. Otto Schalk, Republican.

Auditor — *Chad Shireman, Republican.

Treasurer — Leisa J. Emily, Democrat.

Sheriff — *Nick Smith, Republican.

Assessor — *Lorena (Rena) A. Stepro, Republican.

County Commissioner District 3 — *Jim Heitkemper and Brad Wiseman, both Republicans.

County Council District 1 — *Kyle S. Nix, Republican.

County Council District 2 — *Ross Schulz, Republican, and Sarah Blessing, Democrat.

County Council District 3 — *Holli Baker Castetter, Republican.

County Council District 4 — Jake Blackman and Scott Jones, both Republicans.

Blue River Township Trustee — *Michael Beyerle, Republican.

Blue River Township Advisory Board — *Glenna Binkley, *Fred Churchill and *Darcy Kamer, all Republicans.

Boone Township Trustee — *Linda King, Republican.

Boone Township Advisory Board — *Kevin Crosier, *Sheila Beanblossom Jackson and *Jessica Terry, all Republicans.

Franklin Township Trustee — *David C. Hussung, Republican.

Franklin Township Advisory Board — *David Brengman and *William A. Rowett, both Republicans.

Harrison Township Trustee — *Mark Strange, Republican (he is completing Jimmy Mayfield’s term).

Harrison Township Advisory Board — Sean R. Davis, Rhonda J. Rhoads and James (Jim) Smith, all Republicans, and Johnathan Eve, Democrat.

Heth Township Trustee — *Teresa Eschbacher, Republican.

Heth Township Advisory Board — *Gerald Jacobs, Republican, and Andrew Eschbacher, Democrat.

Jackson Township Trustee — *Joseph E. (Joey) Martin, Republican.

Jackson Township Advisory Board — *Rick R. Crecelius, *Keith W. Pinaire and *Eric M. Wise, all Republicans.

Morgan Township Trustee — Wyman Lee Childers, Republican, and *Frederick A. Uhl, Democrat.

Morgan Township Advisory Board — Charles Atkins and *Travis McAfee, both Republicans.

Posey Township Trustee — *Teresa Sutton, Republican, and Joan M. Kingsley, Democrat.

Posey Township Advisory Board — John M. Crosby, Tammie D. Crosby and *Lynette Klinstiver, all Republicans, and *Susan May, Democrat.

Spencer Township Trustee — *Aaron Scott, Republican.

Spencer Township Advisory Board — Justin R. Byerly, Jared S. Goldman, *Bruce Hawkins, *Ray E. Saylor and *Belinda Smith, all Republicans.

Taylor Township Trustee — *Tana Miller, Democrat (she is completing the late Wayne Gettelfinger’s term).

Taylor Township Advisory Board — *Pam Wate, Republican, and *Candace J. Stewart, Democrat.

Washington Township Trustee — *Jeremy Wathen, Republican.

Washington Township Advisory Board — *JoAnna Barks and *Stefanie Bliss, both Republicans, and *Tanda Ems, Democrat.

Webster Township Trustee — *Isaac Dean Brown, Republican.

Webster Township Advisory Board — *Oren L. Chumley, Samuel Hecht and *Joey Rosbottom, all Republicans, and *Daniel Thomas McPhillips, Democrat.

Those who wish to file for a Harrison County office may do so at the courthouse in downtown business hours until noon Friday.

Crawford County residents who filed by Monday noon are:

Circuit Court Judge — *Sabrina R. Bell and Justin B. Mills, both Republicans.

Prosecutor — Chase Smith, Republican, and T. Parker Hudson, Democrat.

Auditor — Wendy N. Marples, Republican.

Sheriff — *Jeff Howell and Charles W. Wright, both Republicans, and Dennis W. Talley, Democrat.

Assessor — *Michael A. Carlisle Sr., Republican.

County Commissioner District 1 — *Daniel Crecelius and Martha S. Wright, both Republicans.

County Council District 1 — *Lucas Stroud, Republican.

County Council District 3 — Troy D. Mason, Republican, and *Dale Roll, Democrat.

County Council District 4 — *Chad L. Riddle, Republican.

Boone Township Trustee — *Mae B. Parr, Republican.

Johnson Township Advisory Board — Louise Wright, Republican, and Joe E. Schwartz, Democrat.

Liberty Township Trustee — *Ralph D. Sherron, Republican.

Liberty Township Advisory Board — Diana Main and Gary Main Jr., both Republicans, and Daniel House, Democrat.

Ohio Township Trustee — *Kyle O. Wiseman, Republican.

Ohio Township Advisory Board — Gary D. Wiseman, Republican.

Patoka Township Trustee — *Mary K. McLain, Democrat.

Patoka Township Advisory Board — Pamela K. Harmon, Janet L. Leonard and Beverly Oxley, all Democrats.

Sterling Township Trustee — *Russell L. Newkirk, Democrat.

Sterling Township Advisory Board — Leann Bertram, Lori J. McIntosh and Lisa M. Riddell, all Democrats.

Whiskey Run Township Trustee — *Terry L. Stroud, Democrat.

Whiskey Run Advisory Board — Jerry W. Brown Jr., Terry Lee Jones and Charles T. Parks, all Democrats.

At the state level, candidates to date are:

State Senator District 74 — *Kevin Boehnlein, Republican (he is completing the term of Ron Grooms, who stepped down in November).

State Representative District 70 — *Karen Engleman, Republican.

State Representative District 74 — *Stephen R. Bartels, Republican.

The lone candidate for U.S. Senator is *Todd Young, Republican.

One person has filed for the U.S. Representative Eighth District seat: *Larry D. Bucshon, Republican.

Candidates for the Ninth District Congressional seat are Erin Houchin, Mike Sodrel and Bill J. Thomas, all Republicans, and Isak Asare and Matthew Fyfe, both Democrats.