Posted on

Election filings continue

Election filings continue Election filings continue

Filing at the local level has slowed since it opened Jan. 5, but residents in both Harrison and Crawford counties have until noon on Friday, Feb. 4, to complete the necessary paperwork to run for office.

Candidates to date in Harrison County are (an * indicates incumbent):

Circuit Court Judge โ€” *John T. Evans, Republican.

Prosecutor โ€” *J. Otto Schalk, Republican.

Auditor โ€” *Chad Shireman, Republican.

Treasurer โ€” Leisa J. Emily, Democrat.

Sheriff โ€” *Nick Smith, Republican.

Assessor โ€” *Lorena (Rena) A. Stepro, Republican.

County Commissioner District 3 โ€” *Jim Heitkemper and Brad Wiseman, both Republicans.

County Council District 1 โ€” *Kyle S. Nix, Republican.

County Council District 2 โ€” *Ross Schulz, Republican, and Sarah Blessing, Democrat.

County Council District 3 โ€” *Holli Baker Castetter, Republican.

Blue River Township Trustee โ€” *Michael Beyerle, Republican.

Blue River Township Advisory Board โ€” *Glenna Binkley and *Darcy Kamer, both Republicans.

Boone Township Trustee โ€” *Linda King, Republican.

Boone Township Advisory Board โ€” *Kevin Crosier, *Sheila Beanblossom Jackson and *Jessica Terry, all Republicans.

Franklin Township Trustee โ€” *David C. Hussung, Republican.

Franklin Township Advisory Board โ€” *William A. Rowett, Republican.

Harrison Township Trustee โ€” *Mark Strange, Republican (he is completing Jimmy Mayfieldโ€™s term).

Harrison Township Advisory Board โ€” Rhonda J. Rhoads, Republican, and Johnathan Eve, Democrat.

Heth Township Trustee โ€” *Teresa Eschbacher, Republican.

Heth Township Advisory Board โ€” Andrew Eschbacher, Democrat.

Jackson Township Trustee โ€” *Joseph E. (Joey) Martin, Republican.

Jackson Township Advisory Board โ€” *Rick R. Crecelius and *Keith W. Pinaire, both Republicans.

Morgan Township Trustee โ€” Wyman Lee Childers, Republican, and *Frederick A. Uhl, Democrat.

Posey Township Trustee โ€” *Teresa Sutton, Republican.

Posey Township Advisory Board โ€” Tammie D. Crosby and *Lynette Klinstiver, both Republicans, and *Susan May, Democrat.

Spencer Township Trustee โ€” *Aaron Scott, Republican.

Spencer Township Advisory Board โ€” Justin R. Byerly, Jared S. Goldman, *Bruce Hawkins, *Ray E. Saylor and *Belinda Smith, all Republicans.

Taylor Township Advisory Board โ€” *Candace J. Stewart, Democrat.

Washington Township Trustee โ€” *Jeremy Wathen, Republican.

Washington Township Advisory Board โ€” *JoAnna Barks and *Stefanie Bliss, both Republicans, and *Tanda Ems, Democrat.

Webster Township Trustee โ€” *Isaac Dean Brown, Republican.

Webster Township Advisory Board โ€” *Joey Rosbottom, Republican, and *Daniel Thomas McPhillips, Democrat.

Also on the ballot will be the positions of treasurer, county council District 4 and the remaining township trustees and advisory boards.

Those who wish to file for a Harrison County office may do so at the courthouse in downtown Corydon during business hours Monday through Friday.

Those who had filed in Crawford County by press time on Monday were:

Circuit Court Judge โ€” *Sabrina Bell, Republican.

Prosecutor โ€” Chase Smith, Republican, and T. Parker Hudson, Democrat.

Sheriff โ€” *Jeff Howell and Charles W. Wright, both Republicans, and Dennis W. Talley, Democrat.

Assessor โ€” *Michael A. Carlisle Sr., Republican.

County Commissioner District 1 โ€” *Daniel Crecelius and Martha S. Wright, both Republicans.

County Council District 3 โ€” *Dale Roll, Democrat.

County Council District 4 โ€” *Chad L. Riddle, Republican.

Liberty Township Trustee โ€” *Ralph D. Sherron, Republican.

Ohio Township Trustee โ€” *Kyle O. Wiseman, Republican.

Ohio Township Advisory Board โ€” Gary D. Wiseman, Republican.

Patoka Township Trustee โ€” *Mary K. McLain, Democrat.

Patoka Township Advisory Board โ€” Pamela K. Harmon, Janet L. Leonard and Beverly Oxley, all Democrats.

Sterling Township Trustee โ€” *Russell L. Newkirk, Democrat.

Whiskey Run Township Trustee โ€” *Terry L. Stroud, Democrat.

Whiskey Run Advisory Board โ€” Jerry W. Brown Jr., Terry Lee Jones and Charles T. Parks, all Democrats.

Those who wish to file as a candidate in Crawford County may visit the election office Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Wednesdays from 8 a.m. to noon.

At the state level, the following have filed as candidates:

State Senator District 47 โ€” Kevin Boehnlein, Republican.

State Representative District 70 โ€” *Karen Engleman, Republican.

State Representative District 74 โ€” *Stephen Bartels, Republican.

Federal candidates to date are:

Eighth District โ€” *Larry D. Buchson, Republican.

Ninth District โ€” Erin Houchin and Bill J. Thomas, both Republicans, and Matthew Fyfe, Democrat.