Posted on

Cougars stifle Eagles to win county title

Cougars stifle Eagles to win county title
Cougars stifle Eagles to win county title
Photo by Brandon Miniard. Lanesville junior guard Maddex Miller evades multiple North Harrison defenders before going up for a layup during the Eagles’ 61-22 loss to the Cougars on Friday.
By Brandon Miniard, Sports Writer, [email protected]

The crowd that gathered at the Eagles’ Nest on Friday night normally indicates a confrontation between basketball heavyweights is about to take place.

That was proven halfway correct as Lanesville hosted county rival North Harrison. Despite an overtime loss to rival Brownstown Central and Class 4A schools in Jennings County and Floyd Central, the Cougars were going up against a Lanesville squad that had as many wins as the Cougars had losses.

The trajectory of the two rivals’ seasons was represented by the quality of play, with the visitors utilizing their superior size and athleticism to push their way to a 61-22 victory.

The opening minutes gave the illusion of a tight contest with dueling threes from Cougars’ senior center Ethan Oakley and Eagles’ junior guard Dawson Teeter. That was as close as the contest would get before the Cougars shot ahead on a 14-2 surge, led by eight points from junior Kaleb Kellems, four from senior guard Logan McIntire and another Oakley bucket. The Eagles’ only score of that span came on a driving layup from junior guard Maddex Miller, resulting in an early 17-5 Cougars’ edge.

Scoring in the second quarter was a repeat performance of the opening frame as the Eagles again managed only five points on a Teeter triple and Miller bucket. The Cougars repeated their first quarter offensive as well with four points apiece from McIntire and sophomore guard Deven Moore and buckets from juniors Riley Schneider and Sawyer Wetzel. Senior Garrett Hoehn capped off another offensive outburst as his three-pointer tickled the twine at the buzzer, sending the Cougars waltzing into the visitor’s locker room with a 32-10 advantage.

The Eagles’ offense in the second was hardly any better, managing just six points in the third quarter. Four of those points came by way of senior forward John Morgan alongside a post hook from junior forward Jackson Schneider. The Cougars’ offense, meanwhile, was just as scintillating as it was in the first half, led by five points from Oakley and four from McIntire. Kellems followed with a long ball alongside a Schneider bucket and Wetzel free throw to take a 47-16 into the final quarter.

Ball handling became the latest of a number of issues for the Eagles in the closing minutes, with a pair of turnovers resulting in consecutive McIntire dunks. Those jams accounted for four of McIntire’s nine points in the frame alongside buckets from Hoehn and Schneider and an Oakley freebie. The Eagles once again squeezed out only six points on buckets from junior forward Ethan Patterson and junior center Lucas Frazier, along with two freebies from freshman forward Jaxson Payne to finish off a 61-22 Cougars’ victory.

McIntire led all scorers with a game-high 21 points followed by 11 apiece from Kellems and Oakley as the Cougars swept the Harrison County title for the third consecutive season. The Eagles, meanwhile, failed to have a player score more than six points, led by Teeter’s two triples while Miller and Morgan each notched four.

The Cougars swept the weekend slate by blowing out Mid-Southern Conference-rival Salem 77-31 the following night. The Eagles salvaged their weekend when they defeated Clarksville 65-52.

Both sides’ next contests will be homecoming night, starting with the Cougars hosting West Washington on Friday night. The next night, the Eagles will host Charlestown. Tipoff for both games are slated for 7:30.

North Harrison 17 15 15 14 – 61
Lanesville 5 5 6 6 – 22
North Harrison – McIntire 21, Kellems 11, Oakley 11, Schneider 6, Hoehn 5, Moore 4, Wetzel 3.
Lanesville – Teeter 6, Miller 4, Morgan 4, Frazier 2, Patterson 2, Payne 2, Schneider 2.
3-point goals – North Harrison 4 (Oakley 2, Hoehn 1, Kellems 1); Lanesville 2 (Teeter 2).