Posted on

Applications open for educator scholarship

Applications open for educator scholarship Applications open for educator scholarship

State Rep. Karen Engleman, R-Georgetown, encourages local students planning to pursue a career in education to apply for the state’s teaching scholarship.

Engleman said applications are now being accepted for the 2022-23 Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarship, which pays $7,500 per year for up to four years to students earning a teaching degree and who commit to teaching in Indiana for at least five years.

The deadline to apply is Jan. 31.

“Keeping the best and the brightest in Hoosier classrooms is crucial to our state’s academic success,” Engleman said. “This scholarship program gives a financial boost to passionate future teachers and motivates them to stay in our state after graduation.”

The scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20% of their class or earn a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT. To continue earning the scholarship in college, students must file a Free Application for Federal Student Aid each year, earn a 3.0 cumulative grade-point average and complete at least 30 credit hours per year. Current college students who apply must be able to use the scholarship for at least two full academic years.

In 2020, 439 students applied for the scholarship, with applications from 231 high schools in 84 counties. Nearly three-quarters of applicants were Indiana high school seniors with the remainder comprised of current college students.

In Harrison County, Katelyn Hamann of Corydon Central High School, Emma Meeks of South Central Junior-Senior High School and Cora Scott of North Harrison High School earned the scholarship.

Future educators can apply at before the Jan. 31 deadline. Questions may be directed to [email protected]. For questions about state financial aid, students can contact the Indiana Commission for Higher Education at 1-888-528-4719 or via email at [email protected].