Posted on

Harrod among banking leaders honored

Harrod among banking leaders honored
Harrod among banking leaders honored
Bill Harrod

The Indiana Bankers Association recently recognized 17 members of the Indiana banking community with Leaders in Banking Excellence awards, the association’s highest honor. The awards ceremony took place Aug. 16 at the IBA annual convention in French Lick.

Honorees represent both the classes of 2020 and 2021, since last year’s ceremony was delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

At the honors ceremony, presentations were made by dignitaries, including U.S. Sen. Mike Braun; Thomas C. Fite, director of the Indiana Dept. of Financial Institutions; Michael S. Zahn, IBA chairman; and Amber R. Van Til, IBA president and CEO. Additionally, each honoree was invited to make comments and was presented with an ebony keepsake plaque.

The awards ceremony culminated with the showing of a traveling version of the IBA Wall of Excellence.

A permanent Wall of Excellence is on display at the IBA offices in Indianapolis, with crystalline plaques representing all of the Leaders in Banking Excellence designated since 2018, the year the awards were created.

The classes of 2020 and 2021 Leaders in Banking Excellence represent a range of current and retired bankers, selected for their positive impact on Indiana banks and the communities they serve. All honorees were nominated by IBA-member organizations and approved by the IBA board of directors.

Class of 2020 honorees were William W. (Bill) Harrod of First Harrison Bank, Corydon; Larry W. Myers, First Savings Bank, Jeffersonville; George L. Allison, Owen County State Bank, Spencer; Craig M. Dwight, Horizon Bank, Michigan City; Clay W. Ewing, German American Bank, Jasper; Charles E. Isch, First Bank of Berne; Gene E. Miles, First Farmers Bank & Trust, Converse; John W. Tanselle, SmithAmundsen LLC, Indianapolis; Ryan M. Warner, Bippus State Bank, Huntington; and David G. Wihebrink, Logansport Savings Bank.

Class of 2021 Honorees were David B. Becker, First Internet Bank of Indiana, Fishers; Richard E. Belcher, First Federal Savings Bank, Rochester; Mark S. Fogt, Garrett State Bank; David M. Geis, Jackson County Bank, Seymour; James D. Neff, Horizon Bank, Michigan City; Michael C. Rechin, First Merchants Bank, Muncie; and C. Michael Stegall, Community First Bank of Indiana, Kokomo.

For more information about IBA Leaders in Banking Excellence, including past honorees, visit