Posted on

Harrison County students receive educator scholarship

Harrison County students receive educator scholarship Harrison County students receive educator scholarship

Local students preparing to become teachers are among this year’s recipients of the state’s Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Reps. Steve Davisson, R-Salem, and Karen Engleman, R-Georgetown.

The scholarship program, established in 2016 through legislation supported by Davisson, awards $7,500 annually to 200 high-achieving students who commit to teaching in the state for at least five years after graduating college.

“These scholarships encourage students to enter the teaching field and stay in our communities,” Davisson said. “This program is a great way to alleviate some of the potential financial burdens of college so they can focus on growing their skills.”

According to Engleman, more than 400 students applied. Among this year’s 200 scholarship recipients are Katelyn Hamann, a 2021 Corydon Central High School graduate; Emma Meeks, a 2021 South Central Junior-Senior High School graduate; and Cora Scott, a 2021 North Harrison High School graduate.

“It’s incredible to see local students wanting to make a difference and impact the lives of future generations,” Engleman said. “Good educators go beyond the classroom and get involved in their students’ communities. Seeing several young Hoosiers want to become teachers and build a life here in Indiana is truly encouraging.”

Those qualifying for the renewable scholarship totaling up to $30,000 must graduate in the highest 20% of their high school class or earn a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

To learn more and apply for the next round of scholarships opening in the fall, visit