Posted on

IDEM awards $444,435 in Community Recycling Grants

IDEM awards $444,435 in Community Recycling Grants IDEM awards $444,435 in Community Recycling Grants

The Indiana Dept. of Environmental Management recently announced the recipients of the agency’s Community Recycling Grant Program. IDEM awarded $444,435 to 21 applicants.

North Harrison Elementary School was of the recipients, receiving $1,047.

“The Community Recycling Grants are a great way for IDEM to promote and encourage recycling at the local level,” said IDEM Commissioner Bruno Pigott. “IDEM is proud to work with communities to promote recycling throughout the state.”

The grants are available to counties, municipalities, solid waste management districts, schools and non-profit organizations located in Indiana.

Other recipients were Bartholomew County Solid Waste Management District, $29,463; Brown County SWMD, $14,250; City of Goshen, $9,867; Clark County Recycling District, $1,125; Energy Matters Community Coalition Inc., $5,950; Hancock County SWMD, $6,250; Hendricks County Recycling District, $64,822; Huntington City SWMD, $13,135; Jay County SWMD, $2,557; Marion Municipal Utilities, $7,705; Marshall County SWMD $5,132; PilotEd School, $10,292; ReThink Inc., $7,500; Shelby County Recycling District, $32,900; SustainIU, $77,990; Vigo County SWMD, $4,376; Warren County SWMD, $3,444; Washington County SWMD, $64,850; White County SWMD, $76,563; and Zionsville Parks & Recreation, $5,218.

Grant funding is intended to create successful, cost-effective programs. Applicants must demonstrate a positive environmental impact within the project service area, an increase in waste diversion as a result of the project and show the sustainability of the project.

Grants are funded through IDEM’s Solid Waste Management Fund. Funds come from the solid waste management fee (IC 13-20-22-1). The fee consists of 50 cents per ton charge on solid waste for final disposal at Indiana municipal solid waste landfills and incinerators. None of the funding comes from tax dollars.

For additional information, call 1-800-988-7901 or email [email protected]