Posted on

Corydon, Harrison County to receive COVID Response Grant

Corydon, Harrison County to receive COVID Response Grant Corydon, Harrison County to receive COVID Response Grant

Lt. Gov. Suzanne Crouch and the Indiana Office of Community and Rural Affairs announced last week that an additional 80 Hoosier communities will receive more than $18.6 million in federal grant funding through OCRA’s COVID-19 Response Grant Program.

Among the recipients are the Town of Corydon and Harrison County. Both entities were awarded $250,000 to grant up to $10,000 to small businesses that have been most severely impacted by the economic downturn due to COVID-19.

“This grant program has already provided support to more than 600,000 Hoosiers across our state,” Crouch said. “This round we expanded the COVID-19 Response Grant Program so we can continue helping Hoosiers, their families and their businesses recover from the pandemic.”

In April of 2020, OCRA began addressing COVID-19 impact on Indiana communities. Last year, 112 grants were awarded to 96 communities, totaling more than $20.9 million.

“Based on additional research and community feedback, OCRA was able to open this round to municipalities of all sizes and expanded eligible activities,” said Denny Spinner, executive director of OCRA. “With a focus on assisting small businesses, expanding food bank and pantry services and providing essential mental health services, these grants will impact Hoosiers and communities that are on the road to recovery.”

For this round, eligible applicants include non-entitlement and entitlement local units of government that could apply for up to $250,000. Eligible activities include mental health services, child care services, public Wi-Fi locations, food pantry or bank services, subsidence payment programs or grants or loans to businesses to retain low-to-moderate income jobs.

Funding for the COVID-19 Response Phase 3 is derived from Indiana’s Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security Act allocation. The CARES) Act was passed by Congress and signed into law on March 27, 2020.

For more information about the program, visit