Posted on

5 CC grapplers place in Old Cap

5 CC grapplers place in Old Cap
5 CC grapplers place in Old Cap
Owen Wilkins, wrestling in the 182-weight class, reaches for the leg of his opponent during his first-round match Saturday of the Richard Clipp Memorial Old Capital Classic. Wilkins was later pinned in this match and finished sixth for the day. Photo by Jo Ann Spieth-Saylor

Corydon Central saw five of its wrestlers place in Saturday’s 37th annual Richard Clipp Memorial Old Capital Classic Wrestling Tournament.

“Having five in the finals is the most we have ever had in the 37 years of the tournament, so the coaching staff was quite pleased,” said coach Regan Gusler.

At the top of the podium was Chase Straub, who finished first in the 220-weight class.

Second-place finishers for the day were Zane Schreck (106), Bryson Rowley (113), Ben Boman (138) and Seth Johnson (285).

“We were only able to fill eight of 14 weight classes,” Gusler said. “COVID quarantines and injury are the main reason. We have battled all season having a full lineup as many of our wrestlers have been forced to quarantine several times. It’s not unique to us; all teams are struggling with it.”

Other Panthers’ grapplers competing were Kaeden Owen (152) and Owen Wilkins (182), who both finished sixth, and Layne Owen (120), who finished eighth.

Kaeden Owen sustained an eye injury during his second round.

“It is not too serious, and we expect him to be back soon,” Gusler said. “But out of precaution, he didn’t wrestle the rest of the tournament.”

The tournament was started in 1985 by Richard Clipp, former coach who died Aug. 2, 2019, and for whom the event is now named, as a way to bring semi-state level competition to the area.

“We are trying to live up to that ambition all these years later,” Gusler said.

Due to the pandemic, some of the teams slated to participate had to cancel.

“Some of the teams originally scheduled were not able to attend due to COVID or, in the case of the Kentucky teams, they aren’t allowed to participate yet,” Gusler said. “We were able to add some quality teams and have a full allotment of eight teams.”

Joining Corydon Central were Evansville Central, Gibson Southern, Heritage Hills, Jasper, Milan, Southport and Southridge.

Team results – 1. Southridge 202.0; 2. Southport 166.0; 3. Jasper 157.5; 4. Evansville Central 144.0; 5. Heritage Hills 137.5; 6. Gibson Southern 108.0; 7. Corydon Central 103.5; 8. Milan 80.5.

Individual results – 106: 1. Nathan Smith (SP), 2. Zane Schreck (CC), 3. Cameron Fogle (SR), 4. Makenize Smith (HH); 113: 1. Jainier Milanes (J), Bryson Rowley (CC), 3. Richard Condo (M), 4. Jayden Fogle (SR); 120: 1. Aydan Amento (EC), 2. Cole Wirthwein (SR), 3. Trent Burdette (M), 4. Brayden McMillian (SP); 126: 1. Xavier Horton (SR), 2. Kaegan Logan (SP), 3. Braxton Hays (HH), 4. Xavi Lopez (J); 132: 1. Bryce Pardue (SP), 2. Cayden Andrews (SR), 3. Kyren Chester (EC), 4. Blake Duttlinger (HH); 138: 1. Tanner Kane (SR), 2. Ben Boman (CC), 3. Jace Ashby (EC), 4. Carson Mehriager (J) 145: 1. Ian Giesler (J), 2. Andrew Goodwin (SP), 3. Carson Niehaus (SR), 4. Brenden Chew (HH); 152: 1. Luke Robards (EC), 2, Reese Fromme (J), 3. Chris Pillips (M), 4. Evan Hammond (SP); 160: 1. Ian Madden (EC), 2. Daunte Hon (SP), 3. Victor Peters (J), 4. Maddox Vernon (SR); 170: 1. Owen Bryant (GS), 2. Luke Kemper (EC), 3. Aidan Vernon (SR), 4. Quintin Tempel (HH); 182: 1. Reid Schroeder (SR), 2. Brock Fauquher (GS), 3. Braxton Schaefer (HH), 4. Alec Barker (M); 195: 1. Ashton Schuetter (J), 2. Brody Ford (HH), 3. Efrain Zarate (SR), 4. Nolan Ryan (M); 220: 1. Chase Straub (CC), 2. Ceu Thang (SP), 3. Evan Bowling (HH), 4. Jacob Potts (J); 285: 1. Alex Breivogel (GS), 2.Seth Johnson (CC), 3. Hunter Kolley (HH), 4. Jashawn Jackson (SP).