Posted on

Lifeguard certification course offered at Y

Lifeguard certification course offered at Y Lifeguard certification course offered at Y

The YMCA of Harrison County will offer a lifeguard certification class several times throughout 2021 for anyone interested in becoming a certified lifeguard. This is a 30-hour course, and attendance is mandatory at every meeting.

Participants must be at least 15 by the end of the class to register and complete the following required prerequisites: 300-yard swim test, tread water for two minutes and perform a timed event.

Participants need to bring proof of age to the prerequisite training (driver’s license, state I.D. card, birth certificate) and bring swim suit and towel to each meeting. Course materials will be provided.

Class dates offered the first part of the year will be:

• January session (pre-course skill check Jan. 8) — Friday, Jan. 8, 5 to 9 p.m.; Saturday, Jan. 9, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday, Jan. 10, noon to 5 p.m.; Saturday, Jan. 16, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; and Sunday, Jan. 17, noon to 5 p.m.

• March session (pre-course skill check March 12) — Friday, March 12, 5 to 9 p.m.; Saturday, March 13, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday, March 14, noon to 5 p.m.; Saturday, March 20, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday, March 21, noon to 5 p.m.

• April session (pre-course skill check April 9) — Friday, April 9, 5 to 9 p.m.; Saturday, April 10, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday, April 11, noon to 5 p.m.; Saturday, April 17, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday, April 18, noon to 5 p.m.

The cost of the course is $175 for YMCA of Harrison County members and $200 for program participants. Registration is limited to 10 participants.

To register, stop by the YMCA of Harrison County at 198 Jenkins Court NE in Corydon.

For more information, contact Matt Hamblen, program director, by email at [email protected] or call 812-734-0770.

LATEST NEWS