Posted on

CCHS Athletic Hall of Fame to get three more inductees

CCHS Athletic Hall of Fame to get three more inductees CCHS Athletic Hall of Fame to get three more inductees

The Corydon Central High School Athletic Dept. will have induction festivities for its third annual Athletics Hall of Fame class Saturday, Dec. 12.

The induction ceremony will take place at 5:30 p.m. in the CCHS auditorium.

This year’s inductees are Crystal Martin, a member of the Lady Panthers’ basketball squad as well as a four-year letter winner in track and field in the mid-1980s; Kyle Savely, who tallied 1,519 career points in basketball and 39 career goals in soccer for the Panthers in the early 2000s; and Monty Schneider, who earned numerous awards in cross-country, track and field and basketball during his time at CCHS and was a member of the inaugural men’s basketball team at Indiana University Southeast.

Inductees last year were multi-sport stars Doug Bates and Dana Beaven Mattingly and, posthumously, basketball player Frank O’Bannon, who later played hoops at Indiana University and volleyball in the Air Force.

Entering in the inaugural class were Richard Clipp, Meghan Bussabarger McVey, Jack Miles, Tom Preston, Lynne Johnson Thomas and Kerry Zimmerman.

All alumni, fans, supporters and community members are welcome to attend the induction ceremony on Dec. 12. Masks must be worn, and attendees are asked to social distance themselves from those not in their immediate family.

Each of the inductees will be recognized at halftime of the boys’ basketball varsity game Saturday night versus Henryville as well.

The junior varsity tip versus the Hornets is set for 6, followed by the varsity at approximately 7:30.

Admission to the game will be $5. There is no admission to attend only the ceremony in the auditorium.