Posted on

Filing closes for school board seats

Filing closes for school board seats Filing closes for school board seats

All three public school corporations in Harrison County, as well as Crawford County, will have some new faces on their boards of trustees come Jan. 1. That’s because after the deadline to file as a school board candidate passed Friday at noon, some incumbents did not file to seek another term.

Only the North Harrison and Crawford County Community School corporations will have contested races on the Nov. 3 General Election ballot.

Jordan Black of Palmyra and Eric Stroud of Depauw both filed to be the Blue River Township representative on the North Harrison school board. Gregg Oppel currently is the trustee for that seat.

Incumbent Kerry W. Ingle was the only person to file for the Morgan Township seat.

None of the incumbents — Larry Bye, Doug McClain and Dennis Talley — filed to run for another term in Crawford County. Each of the open seats had two people file as candidates. They are:

District 1 — Douglas E. Belcher, Marengo, and Betty A. Richardson, Leavenworth.

District 2 — Paul R. Broughton, Marengo, and Warren L. Laswell, Marengo.

District 4 — Donna K. Apple-Denbo, Grantsburg, and Karen Birkla Sheller, Leavenworth.

Only one of three incumbents filed for their seats on the South Harrison Community School Corp. board. Larry Hauswald, one of three representatives for Harrison Township (District 4), will be unchallenged in November.

Succeeding Shelly Romero as the Boone/Taylor Township representative (District 2) will be Nicholas D. Evans. Deneen A. Stewart will take over the Posey Township seat (District 3) currently held by Mindy Wibbels.

In the Lanesville Community School Corp., which consists of all at-large board members, incumbents Sharon Rothrock and Robert (Bob) Schickel filed to retain their seats. They will be joined on the board by Jaycen Abell, who will succeed Chan Bailey, who is not seeing re-election.

School corporations’ other board seats will be on the ballot in 2022.