Posted on

Primary election filing deadline Friday

Primary election filing deadline Friday Primary election filing deadline Friday

The deadline to file as a candidate is noon Friday. Several people have already declared their intent to run for office.

In Harrison County, two people have filed to run for the county commissioner District 2 seat, currently held by Republican Kenneth Saulman. They are Republicans Nelson Stepro and Mark Strange.

Four people — all Republicans — have filed to seek the three at-large seats on the county council. They are incumbents Gary Byrne, Jennie Engleman Capelle and Donnie Hussung, along with Richard Gerdon, who previously served on the council as a Democrat.

Caylin Spencer, a Republican, is seeking the county coroner position currently held by Gary Gilley.

As of yesterday afternoon (Tuesday), only incumbents have filed for the remaining local offices. They are: Joseph L. Claypool, superior court judge; Sherry L. Brown, circuit court clerk; Debbie Dennison, recorder; Harold Klinstiver, surveyor; and Charlie Crawford, county commissioner District 1.

Those persons seeking to serve as precinct Committeemen are Debra S. Dones (West Boone), Maryland Austin (Corydon South), Herb Schneider (Central Franklin), Tom Powers (South Franklin), Scott Fluhr (Northwest Harrison), Wilma Engleman (West Harrison), Sabrina Kilgore (Southeast Jackson), Charlie Crawford (South Morgan), Robert M. Stults (Southeast Posey) and Carol Klinstiver (West Posey), all Republicans.

In Crawford County, there are six candidates seeking three at-large seats on the county council. Jerry Brewer, a Democrat, and William Breeding, a Republican, who are both currently on the council, are seeking another term. Four others have also filed for a council seat. Democrats Douglas Howard McLain and Dewey Shelton will appear on the ballot as will Republicans Martha Wright and Craig Menke.

Morton Dale, a Republican, is seeking another term as District 3 commissioner. Also filing for that seat is Democrat James Schultz.

Larry Ingle, the Republican incumbent in District 2, has also filed for the Primary.

Reggie Timberlake, a Republican, is hoping to continue as county surveyor. However, he is challenged by Republican Charles Wright for the party’s nomination.

In other filings in Crawford County, several people have filed for precinct committeeman. They are: Ronald Bell, a Republican, seeking the Patoka 1 precinct committeeman’s post; Reginald G. Timberlake, Republican, seeking the Union 2 position; Morton Dale, Republican, for the Ohio 1 post; Patricia Ramsey, Republican, for the Jennings 2 precinct position, and Daniel G. Crecelius, also a Republican, for the Whiskey Run 1 position.

Four Republicans want to be state convention delegate. They are: Chase Smith, Reginald G. Timberlake, David E. Barr and Charles Wright.

The county coroner position, currently held by Democrat Chris Brown, is also up for election as is the county treasurer; that office is currently held by Democrat Kelli Slaughterback.

At the state level, Republican Karen Engleman is seeking another term as the District 70 representative.

Republican Steven Davisson, the District 73 state representative, as well as Republican Mark Cox, have filed for that position.