Posted on

Brown receives EMS for Children Award

Brown receives EMS for Children Award
Brown receives EMS for Children Award
Cynthia Brown

A Harrison County Hospital EMS member received an award during the Indiana Emergency Response Conference when awards, honoring the best and brightest among Indiana first responders and public safety officials, were presented. Award recipients may be nominated by other emergency responders, as well as individuals they may have assisted.

EMT Cynthia Brown received the 2019 EMS for Children Award.

The award recipients for the EMS for Children Award represent the best the industry has to offer in the field of EMS care for children, not only in proficiency, but also in professionalism, according to the Indiana Dept. of Homeland Security.

Brown’s nomination included the following information: “As the car-seat coordinator for their county, dedicated advocate for children Cynthia Brown has sponsored bicycle rodeos, farm safety courses, ‘how hot is the car’ training sessions and many more events. In addition, Brown hosts a car-seat clinic annually. It’s hard to identify just how many lives this superstar has saved.”

“Many deserving individuals were nominated from across the state, and the conference is humbled to honor even a small number of them,” said Douglas Randell, division chief of emergency medical services with Plainfield Fire Dept. and coordinator of the 2019 awards. “Peers understand the difficult work that these responders face every day, and, while these awards are an important way for individuals to be recognized, the sheer number of nominees show that colleagues are noticing and honoring the blood, sweat and tears that responders pour into their work every day.”

The IERC serves as the annual gathering for firefighters, emergency medical services, law enforcement, emergency management agencies, hazardous-materials professionals, special operations personnel and telecommunicators. It includes educational sessions, innovative presentations and discussions about some of the most pressing issues facing the emergency response community in Indiana.

The IERC was planned by the Indiana Fire Chiefs Association, the Indiana Dept. of Homeland Security and Public Safety Medical.

Other awards presented, and the recipients, included Legislator of the Year, Sen. Jon Ford; Fire Instructor of the Year (Individual), Steve Jordan, Evansville Fire Dept.; Fire Instructor of the Year (Division), Ohio Township Volunteer Fire Dept., Training Division (Newburgh); Dispatcher of the Year, Julie Kroger-Toby, St. Joseph County Public Safety Communications Consortium; Heroic Rescue of the Year, Lt. Cory Potts, Clarksville Fire Dept.; David J. Edwards Memorial Award, Primary (EMS) Instructor of the Year, Capt. Eric Kraft, Clay Fire Territory (South Bend); Specialty Care Award, Kevin Speer, president and CEO, Hendricks Regional Health; EMT-Basic of the Year, Michael Dilly, Crawford County EMS; Advanced EMT of the Year, Robert Swoboda, Delaware County EMS; Paramedic of the Year, Abdullakh Abamislimov, Zionsville Fire Dept.; EMS Advanced Life Support Provider of the Year (Fire Department-based), John Crawford, assistant chief of EMS, Fort Wayne Fire Dept.; EMS Advanced Life Support Provider of the Year (Non-Fire Department-based), Three Rivers Ambulance Authority, Operations Division (Fort Wayne); EMS Basic Life Support Provider of the Year (Fire Department-based), Evansville Fire Dept., EMS Division; EMS Officer of the Year, Lt. Andrew Hall, Putnam County Operation Life; Firefighter of the Year, Mike Carr, Noblesville Fire Dept.; Fire Officer of the Year, Nick Mager, assistant chief, Cedar Lake Fire Dept.; Co-medical Director of the Year, Stephanie Gardner, Hancock County EMS medical director, Hancock Regional Hospital, and James Nossett, medical director, Hendricks Regional Health; Fire Chief of the Year (Volunteer), Chad Hanson, Harrison Township Volunteer Fire Dept. (Monroe City); Co-fire Chief of the Year (Career), Greg Wyant, chief, City of Noblesville, and James VanGorder, fire chief, Town of Zionsville.

For more information, visit