Posted on

South Harrison school board reorganizes for 2020

South Harrison school board reorganizes for 2020 South Harrison school board reorganizes for 2020
J.C. Lyell, Staff Writer, [email protected]

At the January meeting of the South Harrison Community School Corp. Board of Trustees last Tuesday, board members recognized two students who were awarded substantial scholarships.

Caroline Boman, a 2020 graduate-to-be at Corydon Central High School, earned the Harrison County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. The award means she will receive full tuition to the school of her choice, Indiana Wesleyan University, where she plans to major in Spanish education. The scholarship also will give Boman a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment.

Another CCHS senior, Jaiden Taylor, received the James Graham Brown Scholarship. The award covers full tuition at Kentucky Wesleyan College, where she plans to major in zoology.

“You young ladies make us proud; thank you very much,” SHCSC Superintendent Dr. Mark Eastridge said at the meeting. “And, I’m confident you make your families proud.”

Also at the meeting, the board reorganized for the new year. Each vote for officers was a unanimous re-election of the 2019 office holder. Mary Mathes was re-elected president; Karen Lopp, vice president; and Barbara Smith, secretary. The board also voted unanimously to reappoint Carolyn Wallace as treasurer, Pamela Siepel as first deputy treasurer and Sally Welsh as second deputy treasurer.

Other board appointments made were: Karen Lopp and Larry Hauswald, SHCSC Safe and Inclusive Schools Committee; Mathes and Smith, SHCSC Bargaining Committee and SHCSC Group Insurance Committee; Mathes, Harrison County Alternative Education Center board and non-voting adviser for Town of Corydon Redevelopment Commission; and Lopp, Harrison County Purdue Extension board.

Staff changes approved, by building, were:

CCHS — Georgia South’s transfer from kitchen helper to cafeteria manager; Rachel Baelz’s leave of absence as media specialist; Heather Rogers for two additional hours as instructional assistant; Kegan Livers as 1/2 assistant boys’ track-and-field coach; Ally Reinignga, Sydney Smith, Izzy Peak, Hayden McCallister and Allison Trostle as volunteer junior band assistants; and Steve Satterfield, Charles Combs, Blake Patton, Tanner Leonardo and James Gibson as volunteer band assistants.

Corydon Central Junior High School — Scott Haag as volunteer wrestling coach.

Corydon Intermediate School — resignations of Shannon Dailey as custodian and Georgina Zuniga as kitchen helper.

Corydon Elementary School — Alexis McCullum as preschool special education instructional assistant.

South Central Junior-Senior High School — Shelby Allen as assistant softball coach and Darin Weatherford as volunteer assistant girls’ basketball coach and resignation of Brooke Stewart as junior high golf coach.