Posted on

Voters oust most incumbents in town elections

Voters oust most incumbents in town elections
Voters oust most incumbents in town elections
Poll workers from Palmyra turn in voting equipment last night (Tuesday) at the Harrison County Court House. Corydon poll workers followed a little later. Photo by Jo Ann Spieth-Saylor
Jo Ann Spieth-Saylor, Editor, [email protected]

Tuesday’s town elections in the area saw few incumbents earn another term in office.

Corydon’s three council incumbents in contested races were handily ousted by Republican challengers.

In Ward 2, Paul Hamann defeated Roger L. McGraw, who ran as an Independent, 292 votes to 145.

Lester (Les) Rhoads won the Ward 3 seat, garnering 280 votes to the 163 for Rachel Baelz, who ran as an Independent.

And, in Ward 5, Doug Castetter received 301 votes to Democrat Chris Mattingly’s 141.

Tyson Uhl will take over the Ward 4 seat; that race was decided earlier in a caucus by the Republican party. Mark Parks, who did not seek another term, currently represents that ward.

The lone incumbent returning is Eva Bates North, an Independent, who ran unopposed.

The current clerk-treasurer, Tregala M. (Treggie) King, will also serve another term. She was unopposed in yesterday’s election.

Voters in Palmyra re-elected two incumbents, Democrat Christall F. Ingle and Independent Virginia (Jenny) Kirkham. Taking the third seat on the council will be Republican Wyman Lee Childers, who was the top vote-getter, with 151. Ingle received 124 votes, while Kirkham had 111.

Other candidates on the ballot were Republicans Debra Sue Ray (65 votes) and Heather Hug (55 votes).

Clerk-Treasurer Debra L. Jones, a Republican, was unopposed; she was selected as the candidate during a caucus prior to the election.

In Milltown, incumbent board president Jerry Monroe (Monty) Garrett was defeated. Garrett, a Republican, garnered 80 votes in a field of four where the top three were Republicans Justin Curtis Barnes and Anna Jean Melton, who collected 94 and 85 votes, respectively, while Democrat Jerry Lee Mackey received 87.

Clerk-Treasurer Donna C. Cox, a Democrat, was defeated by Republican Alicia A. Lutz, with a vote total of 42 for Cox and 96 for Lutz.

In Georgetown, Republicans Gary L. Smith and Ben Stocksdale captured the two contested races. Smith defeated incumbent Everett Pullen, a Democrat, 277 to 188 for the District 1 seat, while Stocksdale unseated Democrat Michelle (Shelly) Trent, who was selected as that party’s candidate during a caucus last month, by 64 votes, 265 to 201, for the District 3 seat.

Kathy Haller, a Democrat, was uncontested for the District 2 seat.

The Leavenworth Town Council featured the closest decision of the night with Democrat Lucy Veltman edging incumbent Reginald Whitney Timberlake, a Republican, by a single vote for the third and final seat on the three-member council, 39 to 38.

Matthew Wyatt Hollcroft was the top vote-getter with 52 followed by fellow Republican and incumbent Herschel Glenn Smith II with 47.

The clerk-treasurer’s race was a lopsided one as Republican Samantha Ann Lahue defeated incumbent Cynthia Christine Kemp, a Libertarian, 58 to 7.

Marengo’s three town council members all held their seats. Republicans Jerry Hanger Jr. and Michael Haverstock led the way with 64 and 47 votes, respectively. Democrat Eddie Wetzel was re-elected with 45 votes while Democrat challenger Glen Laws fell short with 29 votes.