Posted on

Town elections to take place Tuesday

Town elections to take place Tuesday Town elections to take place Tuesday


Residents in some towns will head to the polls Tuesday to vote for town council members and to elect a clerk-treasurer. Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. that day.

Corydon residents will vote at the town hall. Three of the town’s five wards have contested races. They are (* indicates incumbent):

  • Ward 2 — Republican Paul Hamann and Independent *Roger L. McGraw.
  • Ward 3 — Republican Lester (Les) Rhoads and Independent *Rachel Baelz.
  • Ward 5 — Republican Doug Castetter and Democrat *Chris Mattingly.

At Palmyra, there are five at-large candidates for the three seats: Republicans Wyman Childers, Heather Hug and Debra Sue Ray, Democrat *Christall Ingle and Independent *Virginia (Jenny) Kirkham.

Residents will vote at the Palmyra Town Hall.

There are three town elections with contested races in Crawford County.

Milltown residents will vote at the Milltown Fire Volunteer Dept., located at 607 Indiana Ave.

There are four council candidates, and voters will choose three. They are Republicans Justin Curtis Barnes, *Jerry Monroe Garrett and *Anna Jean Melton and Democrat *Jerry Lee Mackey.

The clerk-treasurer position is also contested, with Republican Alicia Lutz challenging Democrat *Donna Cox.

Leavenworth voters will cast their ballots at the Ohio Valley Community Senior Citizens Center, located at 629 West S.R. 62.

Four candidates are vying for the three council seats: Republicans Matthew Wyatt Hollcroft, *Herschel Glenn Smith II and *Reginald Whitney Timberlake and Democrat Lucy Veltman.

Running for Leavenworth clerk-treasurer are Republican Samantha Lahue and Libertarian *Cynthia Christine Kemp.

Marengo has four candidates seeking three council seats. They are Republicans *Jerry L. Hanger and *Michael William Haverstock and Democrats Glen Laws and *Eddie Wetzel.

Marengo voters will cast ballots at the town hall.

Georgetown voters will elect town council members in two districts:

  • District 1 — Republican Gary L. Smith and Democrat *Everett Pullen.
  • District 3 — Republican Ben Stocksdale and Democrat *Michelle (Shelly) Trent.

Voters will cast their ballots at Georgetown Elementary School.