Posted on

Newspaper brings home awards for news, photos, ads

Newspaper brings home awards for news, photos, ads Newspaper brings home awards for news, photos, ads

The Corydon Democrat newsroom staff received 15 awards Saturday and finished second in General Excellence, based on points for the various awards. The previous evening, O’Bannon Publishing Co. Inc.’s advertising department received seven awards.

Plaques and certificates in 30-some categories for five divisions, based on newspaper circulation (two divisions for non-dailies and three for dailies), were distributed Saturday at the Hoosier State Press Association Foundation Newspaper Contest Awards Luncheon at The Nest in Greenwood.

The newsroom entries, based on stories and photographs published between July 1, 2018, and June 30, 2019, were judged by staff members from newspapers in Minnesota.

Individual awards received by The Corydon Democrat were:

Brian Smith — first for Best Sports Section and Best Multiple Picture Group (“Big Swings, Bigger Hearts”); second for Best Sports Action Photo (sectional game winner); and third for Best Sports Event Coverage (“Fearless Eagles Fly”) and Best Multimedia Story about the Hammerheads swim team.

Ross Schulz — first for Best Business/Economic New Coverage (“Leaders in food production touted at Farm Bureau meeting”) and third for Best Spot News Photo taken during an ice storm that hit the county.

Jo Ann Spieth-Saylor — first for Best Feature Photo taken at the annual Kiwanis Club of Historic Harrison County’s fireworks show at Old Capital Golf Club (the photo also was one of five finalists for Photo of the Year) and second in the same category for a photo of a goat race at the Harrison County Fair, and second for Best Portrait of a girl dyeing Easter eggs at the Harrison County Public Library.

J.C. Lyell — first for Best Spot News Photo of a slide-off involving a school bus and third for Best Business/Economic News Coverage (“Culver’s prepares to celebrate 15 years”).

The staff also won first for Best Editorial Page(s) and second for Best Website and Best Newspaper Design.

The Blue Ribbon awards, which began in 1972, with both a daily and non-daily paper earning the award, went to the Brown County Democrat (non-daily) and The Herald Bulletin in Anderson (daily).

The HSPA and Foundation also presented some special awards during Saturday’s program.

The Frank O’Bannon Sunshine Award is presented to an individual, group or organization that demonstrates outstanding efforts to protect and enhance the concept of open government in Indiana. The award is named after the late Indiana governor who was an advocate of the people’s right to know throughout his political career, illustrated by his creation of the office of Public Access Counselor. Frank O’Bannon also was publisher of this newspaper.

This year, the Sunshine Award was presented to Bill Abbott, who was chief of the Seymour Police Dept. Abbott had retired the day before the presentation.

Christopher Stevens, of The Herald Bulletin in Anderson, was the recipient of the Nina Mason Pulliam Charitable Trust Environmental Award, and Jeff Parrott, of the South Bend Tribune, was presented the Ray Moscowitz Award, which fosters the advancement of the First Amendment.

During Friday’s advertising conference and awards presentation, Alice Weber received second in the Think Outside the Box category and Chris Adams earned third in the New Revenue Idea category.

The staff at O’Bannon Publishing Co. received first place in New Revenue Idea and Noninserted Niche Publication (“This is Harrison County” magazine), second in New Revenue Idea and third in Professional Services and ROP Series or Campaign Staff.