Posted on

Lanesville earns girls’ sports award in SAC

Lanesville Junior-Senior High School earned the Southern Athletic Conference’s All-Sports Trophy for the 2018-19 school year.
The Lady Eagles won SAC titles in basketball, tennis and softball to help accumulate 26 points. Behind Lanesville in the standings were Borden (24 points), Henryville (22), New Washington (19), Crothersville (15) and South Central (13). It was the first girls’ All-Sports Trophy since the 2005-06 school year for the Lady Eagles.
The boys’ All-Sports Trophy went to Henryville, which swept the spring sports titles and, ultimately, scored 30 points. Following the Hornets were Borden (25), Lanesville (23.5), South Central (23), New Washington (11.5) and Crothersville (eight).
The spring All-Conference award winners for baseball and softball within the SAC also were released.
In softball, Lanesville’s Hannah Nunemaker was named Most Outstanding Player. The Lady Eagles’ coach, Steve Sonner, was named Coach of the Year.
Lanesville had a host of softball players make All-SAC, including Grace Smith, Lily Romeo, Irelynn Hewitt Ball, Abby Duncan and Nunemaker.
The remainder of the honorees were Riley Nunn (Henryville), Allison Horn (Henryville), Ashley Gerth (Henryville), Eryn Helton (New Washington), Pammy Minton (New Washington), Adrian Miles (New Washington), Madison Helton (New Washington) and Megan Snelling (New Washington).
Lanesville won the SAC softball title for a second straight season, with a 3-0 record, followed by Henryville (2-1), Borden (1-2) and New Washington (0-3).
In baseball, Lanesville placed five players ” Zech Fink, Isaac Cassabella, Justin Bailey, Ty Tidstrom and Gabe Gowens ” on the All-Conference team. From South Central, Ryan Steen and Wesley Wilson were named All-Conference.
Also named All-SAC in baseball were Kade Badger (Henryville), Cole Pirr-mann (Henryville), Elijah Marcum (Henryville), Alec Drollinger (Henryville), Kyle Reynolds (Borden), Mason LaGrange (Borden) and Kyle Leftwich (Borden).
Most Outstanding Player went to Henryville’s Badger, while Coach of the Year was the Hornets’ Jeff Schroeder.
Henryville won the baseball title with a 5-0 record, followed by Lanesville (4-1), South Central (3-2), Borden (2-3), New Washington (1-4) and Crothersville (0-5).