Posted on

Candidate filing deadline nears

It’s not too late to file to be a candidate in this year’s election cycle which includes several county-level offices as well as all township trustees and advisory boards and state and federal positions.
However, the deadline is noon Friday.
While most filings are done in the county courthouse, those for U.S. Senate, U.S. Representative, state senators and representatives as well as state offices and prosecuting attorneys must be completed with the Indiana Election Division in Indianapolis.
Voters in Harrison County, regardless whether they choose a Democrat or Republican ballot, will have candidates for most races but few contested ones.
Here is the list of candidates as of the end of the day yesterday (Tuesday); an * indicates the incumbent:
U.S. Senator ‘ *Joe Donnelly, Democrat; Mike Braun, Luke Messer and Todd Rokita, Republicans.
U.S. Representative District 9 ‘ Dan Canon and Liz Watson, Democrats; *Trey Hollingsworth, Republican.
State Senator District 47 ‘ Nicholas A. (Nick) Siler, Democrat; *Erin Houchin, Republican.
State Representative District 70 ‘ *Karen Engleman, Republican.
State Representative District 73 ‘ *Steve Davisson, Republican.
Prosecuting Attorney ‘ *J. Otto Schalk, Republican.
County Auditor ‘ *Chad Shireman, Republican.
County Treasurer ‘ *Debra S. Dones, Republican.
Sheriff ‘ Brad Shepherd and Jim Slucher, Democrats; Steve Priest and Nick Smith, Republicans.
County Assessor ‘ Barbara Birkla Best and *Lorena A. (Rena) Stepro, Republicans.
County Commissioner District 3 ‘ *James Klinstiver, Republican.
County Council District 1 ‘ *Kyle S. Nix, Republican.
County Council District 2 ‘ Frederick (Fred) Naegele, Democrat; Ross Schulz, Republican.
County Council District 3 ‘ Carl L. (Buck) Mathes, Democrat; *Holli Baker Castetter and Tony Myers, Republicans.
County Council District 4 ‘ Joshua Ronau, Democrat.
Blue River Township Trustee ‘ *Michael Beyerle, Republican.
Blue River Township Advisory Board ‘ Annette H. Myers, Democrat; *Fred Churchill and Darcy Kamer, Republicans.
Boone Township Trustee ‘ *Linda King, Republican.
Boone Township Advisory Board ‘ *Kevin Crosier, *Shelia Beanblossom-Jackson and *Jessica Terry, Republicans.
Franklin Township Trustee ‘ *John (Bill) Lyskowinski, Democrat.
Franklin Township Advisory Board ‘ *Bill Rowett, Republican.
Harrison Township Trustee ‘ *Cecil Trobaugh, Democrat.
Harrison Township Advisory Board ‘ Chuck Schroeder, Democrat; *Lester K. Rhoads, Republican.
Heth Township Trustee ‘ *Teresa Eschbacher, Republican.
Heth Township Advisory Board ‘ *Betty Jenkins, Democrat; *Gerald Jacobs and *Gary Wiseman, Republicans.
Jackson Township Trustee ‘ Virginia E. Morris, Democrat; *Joe (Joey) Martin, Republican.
Jackson Township Advisory Board ‘ Michael (Mike) Combs, Mike Flock and *Jeanne Schilmller Schroeder, Democrats; Eric Wise, Republican.
Morgan Township Trustee ‘ *Fred A. Uhl, Democrat.
Morgan Township Advisory Board ‘ *Michael Book and Nancy Perryman, Democrats; *Travis McAfee, Republican.
Posey Township Trustee ‘ *Steven E. Smith, Democrat.
Posey Township Advisory Board ‘ *Susan J. May, Democrat.
Spencer Township Trustee ‘ *Aaron Scott, Republican.
Spencer Township Advisory Board ‘ Bruce Hawkins, *Ray E. Saylor and *Belinda Smith, Republicans.
Taylor Township Trustee ‘ *Wayne Gettelfinger, Democrat.
Taylor Township Advisory Board ‘ Candace J. (Candy) Stewart and *Donald Stewart, Democrats; *Pam Wate, Republican.
Washington Township Trustee ‘ *Kathy Ragains, Democrat.
Webster Township Trustee ‘ *Isaac Dean Brown, Republican.
Webster Township Advisory Board ‘ *Danny T. McPhillips, Democrat; *Oren L. Chumley and Joey Rosbottom, Republicans.
Persons wishing to vote in the May 8 Primary Election who are not registered have until Monday, April 9, to do so. Paperwork must be completed by end of the business day in the clerk’s office or by midnight for those completing an online registration application.
Online registration can be completed at provided the applicant has a valid Indiana driver’s license or Indiana state-issued identification card. This same site allows those with proper documentation to update an existing voter registration record, as well as allows registered voters to find their polling place, look into their provisional ballot status, find county contact information and view who will be listed on their ballot.
Persons who have been convicted of a felon are eligible to vote in Indiana provided their are not incarcerated at the time.
Filing for school board candidates will begin Wednesday, July 25, and conclude at noon Friday, Aug. 24. Those races will be on the Nov. 6 General Election ballot.