Posted on

Voyles part of Indiana All-stars coaching staff

Voyles part of Indiana All-stars coaching staff
Voyles part of Indiana All-stars coaching staff
Missy Voyles

Thirteen players have been selected for the 2016 IndyStar Indiana Girls All-Stars, it was announced March 16.
The head coach for the girls’ all-stars will be Rick Risinger of Heritage Christian. He will be assisted by Jeff Knoy of McCutcheon and Missy Voyles of North Harrison.
Voyles completed her 13th year at the helm of the North Harrison girls’ basketball program. She coached from 1997 through 2005 before returning in 2011 as the current Lady Cats’ skipper.
Through 13 seasons, Voyles has compiled a 204-101 record, claiming sectional titles in 1999, 2002, 2003 and 2016. Two of the sectional titles (2003 and 2016) led to regional triumphs.
The most recent 2016 run led to a program most 28 wins (28-3) and a state runner-up finish. It also was the first semi-state title for North Harrison girls’ basketball.
The 2016 Indiana Girls All-Stars, listed alphabetically, are: Camryn Buhr of Penn, Lindsey Corsaro of Roncalli, Lauren Dickerson of Lawrence North, Darby Foresman of Heritage Christian, Ae’Rianna Harris of Lawrence North, Tyasha Harris of Heritage Christian, Holly Hoopingarner of Greenwood, Cameron Onken of Lafayette Central Catholic, Jayla Scaife of Muncie Central, Sydney Shelton of Mt. Vernon (Fortville), Kristen Spolyar of Lebanon, Emily Sullivan of Evansville Memorial and Jackie Young of Princeton.
Those chosen to the team will play four games in June, two exhibition games against the Indiana Junior All-Stars as well as home-and-home contests against the Kentucky All-Stars.
The 2016 IndyStar Indiana Miss Basketball will be announced from within the group of All-Stars listed above at The Star’s Indiana Sports Awards Dinner set for 6 p.m. April 28 in Indianapolis.
The Junior-Senior exhibition games tentatively are set for June 7 and 9 at sites to be announced. The first game against Kentucky will be June 11 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis. The final game against Kentucky will be June 12 in Kentucky at a site to be announced.
All four dates will be doubleheaders with the IndyStar Indiana Boys All-Stars.
The Indiana All-Stars program was founded in 1939 when the Indiana Boys All-Stars played the state champion Frankfort Hot Dogs. The series with Kentucky began in 1940, and the girls’ portion of the All-Stars was added in 1976.
The Indiana portion of the All-Star Games is organized and produced by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association. The Indianapolis Star, with its IndyStar brand, is a title sponsor, and Best Choice Fieldhouse is a presenting sponsor.
Miss Basketball is selected through a balloting process of coaches and media overseen by game organizers from the IBCA. The remainder of the team is finalized by All-Star game director Charlie Hall after observing numerous games and events throughout the season, conferring with coaches, school officials and media across the state and reviewing votes submitted by coaches and media who each can recommend up to 12 players.