Posted on

Democrats join election-filing fray

Three Harrison County Democrats filed their intent to run for office in this year’s election, joining a number of candidates from the GOP.
Political newcomer James Yeager of Corydon is the first Democrat to sign up for one of three at-large county council seats.
On the Republican side, five candidates have signed up, meaning it’ll be a contested primary on Tuesday, May 3, for three spots in the November General Election. They are Jerry Berryman and Taylor Johnson, both of Corydon, Gary W. Byrne of Georgetown, incumbent Jim Heitkemper of Elizabeth and Donnie Hussung of Lanesville.
Democrat Aaron B. Haggard of Corydon filed to run for the District 2 Commissioner seat currently held by Republican Kenneth (Kenny) Saulman, who also has filed.
The third Democrat to sign up is Willard Haas of Elizabeth, who will run for coroner. The current coroner, Rusty Sizemore, is unable to run again due to term limits; he is completing his second four-year term.
Other candidates (all Republicans) who have signed up to run for county office as of yesterday morning (Tuesday) are New Salisbury resident Charlie Crawford and Phil Smith of Depauw, for District 1 Commissioner; incumbent Harold Klinstiver, Elizabeth, for surveyor; newcomer Debbie Dennison, Mauckport, for recorder; Sherry Brown, Corydon, for circuit court clerk; and Depauw resident incumbent John T. Evans for circuit court judge.
At the state level, incumbent Gov. Mike Pence, Republican, will again be challenged by Democrat John Gregg.
Incumbent Steve Davisson has filed to run for the District 73 Representative seat.
For the District 9 U.S. Representative seat, two GOP members ‘ Robert Hall and Brent Waltz ‘ and two Democrats ‘ Corydon resident Bill Thomas and Shelli Yoder ‘ have filed.
For the U.S. Senate seat up for grabs this year, two Democrats have filed: John Dickerson and Baron Hill; while three Republicans ‘ Eric Holcomb, Marlin Stutzman and current District 9 Rep. Todd Young ‘ have done so.
Potential candidates have until Friday, Feb. 5, at noon to file to run for office at the Harrison County Clerk’s office in the downtown Corydon courthouse.
An updated version of candidate filings can be found online at
For voters, absentee ballot applications may be submitted from now until April 25. Early voting will begin April 5 (hours to be determined).
The deadline to register to vote in the Primary is Monday, April 4, at noon. To do so, visit the clerk’s office.