Posted on

Award Sweet 16 for newspaper

The Corydon Democrat received 20 awards Saturday, including the coveted Blue Ribbon as the best non-daily paper in the state, in a variety of categories and finished second in General Excellence, based on points for the various awards.
This marks the 16th time The Corydon Democrat has earned the Blue Ribbon.
‘This confirms that we are providing the best news and sports coverage for our increasing number of readers,’ Jon O’Bannon, publisher of O’Bannon Publishing Co. Inc., which owns the newspaper, said. ‘I couldn’t be more proud of our team.’
The plaques and certificates in 30 categories for six divisions, based on newspaper circulation (two divisions for non-dailies and four for dailies), were distributed at the Hoosier State Press Association Foundation Newsroom Seminar & Better Newspaper Contest Awards Luncheon at the Indianapolis Marriott North.
The entries, based on stories and photographs published between July 1, 2014, and June 30, 2015, were judged by staff members from an out-of-state newspaper.
Giving of the Blue Ribbon began in 1972, with both a daily and non-daily paper earning the award. The Corydon Democrat’s most recent Blue Ribbon was received in 2012. This year’s daily recipient was The Daily Journal in Franklin.
Other awards received by The Corydon Democrat were:
Ross Schulz ‘ first for Best Sports Event for his story ‘Sam’s best not enough’ about the 2014 football game between North Harrison and Salem; first for Best Feature Photo from an 1860s vintage baseball game at the Harrison County Fairgrounds; third for Best In-Depth Feature or Feature Package for ‘A Mountain to Pass’; and third for Best Spot News Photo of a structure fire.
Alan Stewart ‘ first for Best Editorial Writer; first for Best General News Photo of fireworks at Old Capital Golf Club in Corydon; first for Best Multiple Picture Group taken at the Indianapolis 500; first for Best Picture Story with Audio or Video Story about Heth-Washington Elementary School’s Christmas giveaway for the entire student body; and third for Best General Commentary.
Brian Smith ‘ second for Best Sports News or Feature for ‘Tim Martin: Storied running past, passing on to North Harrison Harriers’; second for Best Sports Columnist; second for Best Sports Action Photo titled ‘Steal’; and second for Best Sports Section.
Chris Adams and Jo Ann Spieth-Saylor ‘ second for Best Special Section for their collaborative work featuring marching bands in the area.
Spieth-Saylor ‘ second for Best General News photo from the high school rodeo competition at the Lanesville Heritage Grounds.
The staff also won numerous awards in other categories, including first for Best Editorial Page, second for Best Feature Section or Page(s) and Best Newspaper Design; and third for Best Website.