Posted on

Slate of candidates set in 5 towns

Town elections are now set for Tuesday, Nov. 3, with contested races in Corydon, Lanesville, Milltown, New Amsterdam and Palmyra.
In Corydon, Ward 3 voters will choose between Independent incumbent John D. Kintner and Republican Susan (Mac) McGuffey; in Ward 4, Independent incumbent Mark L. Parks is challenged by Republican Sean R. Davis; and, in Ward 5, Independent incumbent Judy L. Kennedy will face Democrat Chris Mattingly.
Unchallenged, Independent Eva Lois North will take over the Ward 1 seat currently held by Fred Cammack and Independent incumbent Roger L. McGraw will hold on to the Ward 2 spot.
Also without competition, Independent incumbent Treggie Miller King will stay at the clerk-treasurer position.
Palmyra residents will choose three of the following seven for town council positions: Independent incumbents Alvin M. Brown and Virginia L. Kirkham, Independents Roy McClanahan, Stephen W. Hamm and Mike Shireman and Democrats Mike Sinclair and Kerry W. Ingle.
Independents Jesse R. Hall and Debra L. Jones, who is completing a term vacated by a previous clerk-treasurer, will vie for the clerk-treasurer position in Palmyra.
Four candidates are seeking three town council spots in Lanesville and Milltown.
In Lanesville, they are: Republican incumbent Herb Schneider, Independent incumbent Linda Smith, Independents Julie Anne Wolfe, who is completing Bill Lafayette’s term following his resignation earlier this year, and Bill Lafayette.
Democrat incumbent Betsy Blocker will remain as Lanesville clerk-treasurer.
Candidates in Milltown are Republican incumbents Jerry M. Garrett and Anna Jean Melton, Independent incumbent Bradford Curtis Hudson and Democrat Jerry Lee Mackey.
The clerk-treasurer in Milltown will be Independent Jennifer Shelby Young, who is completing Susan Mills’ term.
In New Amsterdam, Ward 1 voters will chose a town councilperson from the following three Republicans: incumbent Lee McCullum, Regina F. Glass, who is currently serving on the council after assuming the Ward 3 representation to avoid an election four years ago with only three candidates signed up to run, and Patrick Thompson.
The Ward 2 position will go to Charles (Andy) Shaffer, and David W. Harter will take the Ward 3 seat.
Melissa D. Shaffer will retain the clerk-treasurer seat in New Amsterdam.
All other towns had uncontested races, and incumbents will retain seats except in Crandall, where Independent newcomer Susan Wohlfarth will join incumbents Melvin E. (Mel) Hood, a Republican, and Independent Fred Wattula. Mark Neff did not run for re-election.
Those incumbents are:
Crandall ‘ clerk-treasurer, Independent Peggy Stilger.
Elizabeth ‘ East District, Chris Fetz Sr.; West District, Mike Sampson; at-large, Alan Worrall; clerk-treasurer, Hugh Burns.
Laconia ‘ Mike Armstrong, G. Scott Byrum and Tom Huckaby; clerk-treasurer, Paige Baker.
Mauckport ‘ Robert Crosier, Holly Kinsley and Nancy Kirby; clerk-treasurer, Judy Fleace.
New Middletown ‘ Fred Lawson Jr., Larry Joe Lyons and Larry Mattingly; clerk-treasurer, Valerie Anjulo.