Posted on

Final deadline Monday to run for town office

The deadline for Democrats, Republicans and Libertarians to sign up for town elections this fall is Monday at noon.
Town elections will occur Tuesday, Nov. 3, in all incorporated towns (Corydon, Crandall, Elizabeth, Laconia, Lanesville, Mauckport, Milltown, New Amsterdam, New Middletown and Palmyra) that have contested races. As of now, that’s only Corydon, Lanesville, Milltown and Palmyra.
Corydon town council positions in wards 3, 4 and 5 have multiple candidates, six people have signed up for Palmyra’s three at-large seats, two folks have filed for the Palmyra clerk-treasurer position and, so far, Lanesville and Milltown will have at least four options for three council seats.
If after Monday’s deadline has passed and no one has filed as a candidate, then the town may not have an election; those currently in office would retain their positions for another four-year term.
All of Harrison County’s incorporated towns have three-member boards with the exception of Corydon, which has five, and a clerk-treasurer.
Those who have filed to run for office include:
Crandall ‘ Republican incumbent Melvin E. (Mel) Hood and independents Fred Wattula (incumbent) and Susan Wohlfarth. Clerk-treasurer ‘ Independent incumbent Peggy Stilger.
Corydon ‘ Ward 1: Independent Eva Lois North; Ward 2: Independent incumbent Roger L. McGraw; Ward 3: Republican Susan (Mac) McGuffey and Independent incumbent John D. Kintner; Ward 4: Independent incumbent Mark L. Parks and Republican Sean R. Davis; Ward 5: Independent incumbent Judy L. Kennedy and Democrat Chris Mattingly. Clerk-treasurer ‘ Independent incumbent Treggie Miller King.
Elizabeth ‘ East District: Christopher Fetz Sr.; West District: Mike Sampson; and At-large: Alan Worrall; all are Independent incumbents. Clerk-treasurer ‘ Independent incumbent Hugh Burns.
Lanesville ‘ Republican incumbent Herb Schneider; Independent incumbent Linda Smith; Independents Julie Anne Wolfe, who is completing Bill Lafayette’s term following his resignation earlier in the year, and Bill Lafayette. Clerk-treasurer ‘ Democrat incumbent Betsy Blocker.
Milltown ‘ Republican incumbents Jerry M. Garrett and Anna Jean Melton, Independent incumbent Bradford Curtis Hudson and Democrat Jerry Lee Mackey. Clerk-treasurer ‘ Independent Jennifer Shelby Young, who is completing Susan Mills’ term.
New Amsterdam ‘ District 1: Republican incumbent Lee McCullum, and District 3: Republican incumbent Regina F. Glass.
Palmyra ‘ Independent incumbents Alvin M. Brown and Virginia L. Kirkham, Independents Roy McClanahan, Stephen W. Hamm and Mike Shireman and Democrat Michael Sinclair. Clerk-treasurer ‘ Independents Jesse R. Hall and Debra L. Jones, who is completing a term vacated by a previous clerk-treasurer.
Anyone wishing to run for town office must be a registered voter within the town and live within the town limits. If elected, they must continue to reside in the town or forfeit the office.
For more information or to sign up (as Democrat, Republican or Libertarian), call the Harrison County Circuit Court Clerk’s office at 812-738-4289.