Posted on

NH lefty selected to North-South All-star team

NH lefty selected to North-South All-star team
NH lefty selected to North-South All-star team
North Harrison graduate Micah Napper, shown during a postseason game versus Madison, was selected to take part in the Indiana High School Baseball Coaches Association North-South All-star game. File photo by Brian Smith

One of the key cogs in North Harrison High School’s baseball sectional title run this past season, Micah Napper, has the opportunity to represent the blue and white one more time.
Napper, a left-handed pitcher, was selected to participate in the annual Indiana High School Baseball Coaches Association North-South All-star baseball series. The All-star festivities, scheduled for July 9 through 11, will take place at Bob Warn Field on the campus of Indiana State University in Terre Haute.
During his senior campaign, Napper appeared in 11 games on the hill, tallying 71-2/3 innings pitched. The lefty compiled 79 strikeouts while walking 18 to record an 8-1 win-loss record. He also had one save and a 1.08 ERA. Batters yielded just 45 hits off Napper.
North Harrison’s last representative at the North-South game was pitcher Cody Johnson, currently an assistant on the Cougars’ coaching staff, in 2008. Napper becomes the 12th North Harrison player to participate since the series began in 1974.
Napper said he is undecided about playing baseball at the collegiate level. He made academic all-state, carrying a 4.36 grade-point average. He plans to study biomedical engineering.
Tomorrow (Thursday), the players will go through team workouts along with attending a banquet where each player will be recognized.
The first game in the series will take place at 2 p.m. Friday. A second game will take place approximately 45 minutes after game one (about 5:45).
On Saturday, a third game, using wooden bats, will take place at 1 p.m.
Other notable players on the South roster include Trey Fulton (catcher, Floyd Central), Tyler Ward (middle infielder, Heritage Hills), Cale Hall (middle infielder, Orleans) and Ryan Jones (outfielder, Charlestown).
The coaching staff for the South will be led by Mark Wheeler (Orleans) and assisted by Tim Terry (South Vermilion), Brandon Pfoff (Vincennes Lincoln) and Jim Brown (South Vermilion).
The annual summer classic is moved throughout the state as communities bid to host it. The series has been hosted six times by Jasper, with LaPorte, South Bend, Indiana State and Ball State each having the series twice.
The 1979 series in Jasper coincided with the opening of the IHSBCA Hall of Fame which is located in Jasper. All players names and team photos are part of the displays in the Hall of Fame.
The Saturday game during the series has the players wear special all-star uniforms then they don their varied high school uniforms for the Sunday showcase.
Thirteen former all-stars have appeared in major league play. One has been a major league coach, while another all-star now plays in the NBA. Each year as one watches the series unfold, one wonders which of the 50 players will be the next to appear in the big leagues or become a world-class citizen.
Appearing in the major league have been Kevin Brown, Steve Ontiveros, Brian Dorsett, Matt Kinzer, Chad Dunwoody, Walt Terrell, Scott Rolen, Dave Doster, Jamie Allensworth, Hal Morris, Eric Wedge, Lloyd McClendon, Jeff Samardzija and Richie Lewis. Working as a major league coach is Mark Riggins, while Brian Evans is a former NBA player.