Posted on

Town election sign-ups continue

While 2015 is an off-year for federal, state and county elections, those who reside in incorporated towns will have a chance to elect town council members and clerk-treasurers in November.
For those interested in running for town offices in Harrison County, election filing can be done at the Harrison County Circuit Clerk office in the courthouse in downtown Corydon.
Independent candidates have until noon June 30 to submit their petitions to run for town positions, whether on the town council or as clerk-treasurer. Democrats, Republicans and Libertarians have until Aug. 3 at noon.
Town elections will occur Tuesday, Nov. 3, in all incorporated towns that have contested races.
If after all the deadlines to become a candidate for town offices have passed and no candidate has filed, then the town may not have an election. In this case, those currently in office will retain their positions for another four-year term.
All incorporated towns in the county (Corydon, Crandall, Elizabeth, Laconia, Lanesville, Mauckport, New Amsterdam, New Middletown and Palmyra), along with Milltown, which also includes the Crawford County side of the town, have three council members and a clerk-treasurer, with the exception of Corydon. The Corydon Town Council has five members and a clerk-treasurer.
Those who have already signed up to run include:
Corydon ‘ Republican Susan (Mac) McGuffey and Independent incumbent John D. Kintner, Ward 3; Republican Sean R. Davis, Ward 4; and Independent Eva Lois North, Ward 1.
Lanesville (at-large seats) ‘ Republican incumbent Herb Schneider; clerk-treasurer ‘ incumbent Betsy Blocker
Palmyra (at-large seats) ‘ Democrat Michael Sinclair, Independent incumbents Alvin M. Brown and Virginia L. Kirkham, and Independents Roy McClanahan and Steven W. Hamm; clerk-treasurer ‘ Independents Jesse R. Hall and Debra L. Jones, who is completing the term of the previous clerk-treasurer.
Anyone wishing to run for town office, as a council member or clerk-treasurer, must be a registered voter within the town limits.
Once town councilmembers or clerk-treasurers assume office, they must continue to reside in the town or forfeit office if they cease to be a resident of the town.
For more information regarding this year’s town elections, contact the appropriate town hall or the Harrison County Circuit Court Clerk’s office (812-738-4289).