Posted on

Davis resigns to accept new position

A month after removing his name from the 2014 General Election ballot, Harrison County Superior Court Judge Roger D. Davis officially announced that he is stepping down as judge, effective Saturday at noon.
‘I hereby resign from the board of directors of the Judicial Conference of Indiana and the Criminal Law Policy Committee effective Aug. 23, 2014,’ Davis said in an email to Chief Justice Brent Dickson of the Indiana Supreme Court last week. ‘It has been an honor of a lifetime to serve the people of my home, the people of Harrison County, as a judge. It has been a unique honor to be a member of the Indiana Judiciary.’
Davis, a Democrat who has served for nearly 18 years and has been elected to three terms, said he resigned to accept another professional position but declined to elaborate.
On Aug. 13, the Indiana Supreme Court appointed former Harrison Circuit Court Judge Curtis B. Eskew Jr. to serve as judge pro tempore effective at 12:01 p.m. on Aug. 23. Eskew will serve until either the Indiana Supreme Court issues a new order or Gov. Mike Pence appoints someone to finish Davis’ term or the newly-elected judge assumes the office.
Eskew, a Democrat who has been serving as a senior judge in Harrison County, served two terms before he was defeated by Republican H. Lloyd (Tad) Whitis in 1998.
After Davis announced he would not be on the ballot, Democrats appointed former Harrison County Prosecutor Dennis Byrd to fill the spot and face off against Republican Joe Claypool, who is a state gaming agent at Horseshoe Southern Indiana in Bridgeport.
In Indiana, three other courts (Goshen City Court, Lake Superior Court No. 4 and Marion Superior Court) have all had judge pro tempores appointed this year.