Posted on

Crawford collects first NSGC Invite

Crawford collects first NSGC Invite
Crawford collects first NSGC Invite
Incoming Corydon Central senior Ryan Crawford captured the annual New Salisbury Invitational Sunday afternoon. File photo

Whether it be Indiana junior tour events or area amateur tournaments, if Ryan Crawford was entered in the golf tournament this summer, chances are his name would appear at or near the top of the leader board when all is said and done.
The Corydon Central High School senior-to-be continued his strong summer play by winning the New Salisbury Invitational Sunday after rounds of 67 and 70, for a three-under total of 137.
Gusty winds made for tough scoring conditions for the final round with no one scoring under par on the short (5,900 yards) but tree-lined and tricky nine-hole golf course.
‘I couldn’t get anything going as far as making birdies goes,’ Crawford said. ‘I had to scramble most holes it seemed like, but I was fortunate enough to manage well and win my first NSGC Invitational.
‘The course was the hardest I’ve ever played it. Greens were rolling well and the pins both days were in spots I had never seen them in before,’ he said. ‘It was certainly a fun couple of days.’
Crawford began the day tied with Matt Bruce and two shots ahead of Chad Miller before quickly seizing control with a front-nine 35 compared to Bruce’s 39 and Miller’s 38. A back-nine 33 for Bruce made things interesting before coming up two shots shy of Crawford.
‘The wind changed everything,’ Bruce said of the difficult scoring conditions Sunday afternoon.
The fourth member of the final group, Robert (Bob) Morris, opened with a 70 Saturday and closed with a 78 Sunday to finish tied for sixth. Morris has played in each of the 42 New Salisbury Invitationals.
A couple golfers made noise in the groups ahead of the leaders in the Championship Flight. Jon Schmidt, Crawford’s uncle, got off to one of the hottest starts in tournament history with a birdie on No. 1 and back-to-back eagles on Nos. 4 and 5 to get to five-under par through five holes and back to even par for the tournament after an opening-round 75. The blistering start shot Schmidt up the leader board to within three of Crawford after starting the day eight shots back. Schmidt found trouble on No. 6 and No. 9, and a back-nine 39 led to a 73 and a fifth-place showing, which marked his best finish in the invitational (he won the First Flight last year).
Playing in the second-to-last group, Jared Arledge also made it back to even par for the tournament with back-to-back birdies on Nos. 4 and 5 following an opening round 72. But, the back nine proved troublesome for Arledge both days; he carded a 38 on Sunday and a 40 on Saturday. He turned in the lowest nine-hole score of anyone Saturday going out in three-under par 32. The New Salisbury resident had to settle for third with two rounds of 72.
The First Flight trophy went to Charlie Pitman after compiling a total of 150 (77-73), four shots ahead of second-place finisher Corey Long. Pitman also won the First Flight two years ago.
Corydon resident Tim Coffman easily brought home the Second Flight title with rounds of 81-77; and the Third Flight winner was Kent Lance, who secured his first win of any kind breaking 80 on Sunday for a two-day total of 167 (88-79).

Championship Flight
1. R. Crawford 137 (67-70)
2. M. Bruce 139 (67-72)
3. J. Arledge 144 (72-72)
4. R. Schulz 146 (73-73)
5. J. Schmidt 148 (75-73)
B. Morris 148 (70-78)
C. Miller 148 (69-79)
8. K. Mattingly 149 (75-74)
T. Walters 149 (74-75)
T. Beavers 150 (72-78)
11. B. Trevee 154 (75-79)
12. J. Hinton 155 (74-81)
13. D. Faith (75-WD)
C. Spencer (72-WD)

First Flight
1. C. Pitman 150 (77-73)
2. C. Long 154 (77-77)
3. R. Thomas 156 (77-79)
D. Alexander 156 (77-79)
5. S. Beanblossom 157 (79-78)
M. Rigot 157 (76-81)
7. R. Coffman 158 (76-82)
8. M. Rhodes 161 (78-83)
9. C. Barr 164 (76-88)
10. K. Bickett (79-WD)
L.C. Nash (83-WD)

Second Flight
1. T. Coffman 158 (81-77)
2. J. Taylor 163 (85-78)
3. M. Jones 165 (86-79)
4. B. Bolen 166 (87-79)
B. Heilig 166 (81-85)
6. S. Shaffer 167 (80-87)
7. C. Smith 172 (85-87)
G. Robertson 172 (85-87)
9. G. Carpenter 174 (84-90)
10. B. Popp 175 (87-88)
11. S. Decker 176 (87-89)
12. B. Whitaker 179 (87-92)
13. A. Mattson 183 (87-96)
14. R. Higdon (83-WD)
R. Lee (82-WD)
B. Robertson (80-WD)

Third Flight
1. K. Lance 167 (88-79)
2. R. Alexander 170 (88-82)
B. Barnes 170 (89-81)
4. T. Baggett 175 (88-87)
J. Axsom 175 (89-86)
J. Hinton 175 (88-87)
7. M. Miller 177 (92-85)
8. L. Long 178 (92-86)
9. J. Ledford 179 (88-91)
10. L. DeWeese 180 (88-92)
11. D. Pierce 184 (89-95)
12. J. Phelps 186 (97-89)
13. D. Elkins 192 (97-85)
14. R. Ledford 202 (99-103)