Posted on

Primary Election set for Tuesday

Primary Election set for Tuesday Primary Election set for Tuesday

By this time next week, another Primary Election will have come and gone with election day set for Tuesday.
All registered voters will need to present a photo identification card before voting. The Harrison County License Branch will be open extra hours Monday and Tuesday to ensure voters have immediate access to services. It will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Monday and from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Tuesday.
Voters may need to double check their polling location since many have changed with the Harrison County Election Board’s decision to consolidate some locations.
All Franklin Township precincts ‘ central north, south and west ‘ will be at New Life Christian Church instead of the former locations of the Lanesville Jaycee Building and the Lanesville Heritage Community Center.
The North Harrison (township) precinct will move from the main Government Center building to the Health and Education Building in Corydon to relieve congestion in the main building. The South Harrison precinct will stay in the Government Center but move from the commissioners’ conference room (first floor) to the State Board of Accounts office (second floor).
Election board representatives or poll workers will direct voters of any changes in the Government Center voting.
East and West Heth precincts will vote at Heth-Washington Elementary School instead of the Central firehouse (East Heth) and Mauckport Town Hall (West Heth).
All Jackson Township precincts ‘ north, northeast, northwest and southwest ‘ except southeast will now vote in the North Harrison Middle School gymnasium. Southeast Jackson voters will still go to the Community Center in Crandall.
All Morgan Township precincts ‘ northeast, northwest, south and southwest ‘ will vote at Morgan Elementary School.
And Taylor Township voters will move from South Central Junior-Senior High School to the South Harrison Community Development Center in Elizabeth.
All polling places will be marked with a ‘vote here’ flag by the entrance, similar to the one already on display at the courthouse in downtown Corydon.
Residents and candidates should remember the two county political parties have an agreement for no electioneering at polling places.
Voters will have the opportunity to choose either a Democrat or Republican ballot; both contain contested races.
On the Republican side, at the state level, H. Lloyd (Tad) Whitis of Laconia and Erin Houchin of Salem will vie for the opportunity to try and unseat Democrat six-term incumbent Richard Young Jr. of Milltown for the District 47 State Senate seat.
In the District 9 U.S. representative race, Republicans can pick one of the following candidates: two-term incumbent Todd Young of Bloomington, Mark G. Jones of Indianapolis and Kathy Lowe Heil of Elizabeth.
The Democrat candidates in the race are Bill Bailey of Seymour, James R. McClure Jr. of Clarksville, J.S. Miller of Nashville and William Joseph (Billy) Thomas of Corydon.
Countywide, Democrat voters can choose between Terry L. Miller of Elizabeth and Roger D. Wooten Sr. of Mauckport for District 3 county commissioner; while Republicans can choose between incumbent Jim Klinstiver of Laconia and Mark Stewart of Elizabeth.
For county council, Democrats in District 1 will have the choice of Glenn V. Arms of Depauw, Rodney D. Elliott of Depauw or Kyle S. Nix of Ramsey.
And Republican county council District 4 voters will choose between five-term incumbent Ralph Sherman of Laconia and Sam Day of Elizabeth.
Township trustee and township advisory board races will be contested on Democrat ballots for voters in Morgan Township (advisory board), Jackson Township (trustee and advisory board), Spencer Township (trustee) and Franklin Township (advisory board).