Posted on

IBCA girls’ all-state honors set

Fifteen seniors and 15 underclass girls’ basketball players have earned IBCA/Subway first-team All-State honors for 2013-14, as announced March 12.
Also, 120 additional players were selected as honorable mention IBCA/Subway Senior All-State and 120 additional juniors, sophomores and freshmen were recognized as honorable mention IBCA/Subway Underclass All-State in a process organized by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association and presented by Subway Restaurants of Indiana.
Selected as honorable mentions among seniors were Corydon Central’s Marie Rothrock and North Harrison’s Kendra Lambert.
Floyd Central’s Riley Kaiser was selected with the honorable mention seniors, while Lady Highlander Madison Kaiser was selected honorable mention underclass.
Standouts Whitney Jennings of Logansport and Maura Muensterman of Evansville Mater Dei, considered by many observers to be the front-runners for the 2014 Indiana Miss Basketball Award, are among those picked to the IBCA/Subway Senior First Team. They are joined by Ashley Campbell of Class A state champion Oregon-Davis on the 15-player unit.
Completing that list are Kayla Brown of Westfield, Sydney Buck of Homestead, Caroline Buhr of Penn, Kindell Fincher of Fort Wayne Canterbury, Tayler Goodall of Columbus North, Alex Hochstedler of Fishers, Kellie Kirkhoff of Roncalli, Erica Moore of Mount Vernon (Fortville), Morgan Olson of NorthWood, Ana Owens of Lawrence North, Caroline Puntillo of Chesterton and Lauren Whitlatch of Bloomington South.
The IBCA/Subway Underclass First Team features juniors Jenna Allen, Alexa Bailey and Dominique McBryde of Class 4A state champion Bedford North Lawrence, as well as sophomore Tyasha Harris of Class 2A state champion Heritage Christian.
Others on the Underclass first 15 are juniors Lamina Cooper of Lawrence North, Victoria Gaines of Merrillville, Michal Miller of Michigan City, Ali Patberg of Columbus North, Nakeya Penny of Logansport and Tori Schickel of Evansville Mater Dei; sophomores Lindsey Corsaro of Roncalli, Jayla Scaife of Muncie Central and Sydney Shelton of Mount Vernon (Fortville) and Jackie Young of Princeton; and freshman Dana Evans of Gary West.
The IBCA All-State teams are selected in a process where all IBCA-member head coaches have the opportunity to nominate top players from schools in the traditional regional structure of the non-class tournament format. Representatives from each of those 16 regional areas, plus six at-large representatives (two each from IHSAA Districts 1, 2 and 3), then meet to review those nominations, vote and finalize the selections.
Subway Restaurants of Indiana once again is making a financial contribution to the IBCA Scholarship Fund as the presenting partner of the IBCA All-State teams. As part of the partnership, Subway also will provide plaques to first-team honorees and certificates to players receiving honorable mention recognition.