Posted on

Filing process brings out candidates

Filing process brings out candidates
Filing process brings out candidates
Democrat Terry Miller files to run for the District 3 Board of Commissioners seat yesterday morning (Tuesday) as fellow Democrats, left to right, Kyle Byrne (Spencer Township trustee candidate), Bill Lyskowinski (Franklin Township trustee incumbent) and Carl Attwood (Harrison County sheriff candidate) wait to complete their paperwork. Photo by Ross Schulz (click for larger version)

Residents who wish to be candidates in 2014 have had nearly a week to sign up to run for office in Harrison County, and, so far, a good number of them have already done so.
The deadline to file, which can be done in the Harrison County Clerk’s office, at 300 N. Capitol Ave. in the downtown Corydon courthouse, is noon Friday, Feb. 7.
A number of Republicans went as a group Wednesday morning to sign up, including many incumbents ‘ Auditor Karen S. Engleman, Sheriff Rodney (Rod) Seelye, District 1 County Councilman Phil Smith, District 2 County Councilman Gary Davis and District 4 County Councilman Ralph E. Sherman ‘ and one who is seeking office, Debra S. Dones, who filed in the treasurer’s race. (Democrat Carol Ann Hauswald is the incumbent but is not eligible to seek re-election due to term limits.)
Three other Republicans ‘ incumbent Harrison County Prosecutor J. Otto Schalk, Superior Court Judge candidate Joseph L. (Joe) Claypool (Democrat Roger D. Davis is the incumbent) and District 47 Senate seat candidate Harris Lloyd (Tad) Whitis (Richard D. Young Jr., D-Milltown, is the incumbent) ‘ were also on hand to sign in, but all three had to officially file in Indianapolis, which they have since done.
Yesterday morning (Tuesday), a number of Democrats gathered to file as a group. Among them were Terry Miller, for District 3 Commissioner, and Carl Attwood for sheriff.
Incumbent Democrat Lorena A. (Rena) Stepro, who last week filed to run again for assessor, and Democrat Leisa J. Emily, who filed for treasurer, were on hand to support the other candidates.
Others in attendance were Rachel Armstrong of Corydon, who plans to run for Harrison County prosecutor, and Indiana Ninth District Congressional seat candidates Jeff Miller and Bill Bailey. Those candidates must file in Indianapolis.
Democrat county chairman Alva (Jim) Kincaid said he thinks the party has a good chance at taking a council seat or two, possibly with Donnie Hussung in District 2 (Franklin and Jackson townships). Hussung, who has not yet filed, has publicly expressed his intent to run. Kincaid also liked Miller’s chances in the commissioner’s race.
Scott Fluhr, who chairs the Harrison County Republicans, said one of the races he is focusing on is the superior court judge race and hopes to oust Davis, whom he described as the last of the ‘Deatrick Democrats,’ referring to former Sheriff G. Michael Deatrick.
Also seeking re-election are Young, a six-term incumbent, and Rhonda Rhoads, R-Corydon, who is completing her second term as District 70 State Representative.
Some of the county’s 12 townships already have candidates.
Those who have filed for township trustee positions are incumbent Steven E. Smith (Posey Township), incumbent Joseph E. Martin (Jackson Township), incumbent Wayne Gettelfinger (Taylor Township) and Kyle Byrne and Bruce Hawkins, both for Spencer Township.
Candidates for township advisory boards as of yesterday at noon are: Jessica Terry, who was appointed recently to fulfill a vacancy on the Boone Township board, and incumbents Dale (Chip) White and Charles D. Sell, both in Franklin Township.
The Primary Election will be Tuesday, May 6, and the General Election will take place Tuesday, Nov. 4.
The list of filed candidates is updated daily and can be found online at
For more information or any voter registration inquiries, call Harrison County Clerk Sally Whitis at 738-4289.