Posted on

Hoops hall selects boys’ Silver Anniversary Team

Eighteen men have been named to the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 2014 Silver Anniversary Team, based on outstanding accomplishments as a senior basketball player 25 years ago.
The team includes 13 members of the 1989 Indiana All-Star squad.
1989 Indiana All-Stars include Mr. Basketball Pat Graham of Floyd Central, as well as Calbert Cheaney (Evansville Harrison), Greg Graham (Warren Central), Rodney Holmes (South Bend St. Joseph’s), Chris Lawson (Bloomington South), Jamie Matthews (New Washington), Tony McGee (Terre Haute South), Rich Mount (Lebanon), Matt Petty (Crawfordsville), Matt Painter (Delta), Kenny Rowan (Northview), Casey Schmidt (Valparaiso) and Nate Tubbs (Fort Wayne Wayne).
Graham’s accomplishments include 1989 Mr. Basketball, Trester Award Winner, McDonald’s All-American. first team AP, UPI, Bloomington Herald Times all-state as senior, first team Bloomington Herald Times all-state and high honorable mention AP all-state junior year, MVP of the South squad in the 17th annual Kentucky Derby Festival Classic, averaged 32.4 points per game his senior season for state finalists and 27 ppg his junior year for sectional champs, graduated as second-leading scorer at Floyd Central (1,886) on teams that were 74-27.
Graham also scored 890 points in 104 career games at Indiana University from 1990-94. Married with two children, Graham is currently in sales and marketing for Progressive Health Rehab of Evansville.
The remaining five, named to various all-state teams, are: David Anderson (Marion), Tony Barbee (North Central), David Hinton (Castle), Scott Matthews (New Washington) and Mickey McPherson (Mississinewa).
All Men’s Silver Anniversary Team members will be honored at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s Annual Men’s Banquet on Wednesday, March 26.
A mid-day reception, free and open to the public, will take place at the Hall of Fame museum in New Castle. The evening banquet will take place at the Primo Banquet Hall, which is located on the south side of Indianapolis.
Reservation forms will be made available in early 2014, or tickets can be reserved now through the Hall’s website at
For more information, call the Hall at 1-765-529-1891 or send an e-mail to [email protected]