Posted on

Smith claims 2nd MSC title

Smith claims 2nd MSC title
Smith claims 2nd MSC title
Photo courtesy Kim Frederick (click for larger version)

North Harrison’s Devan Smith added another patch to her stellar high school golf career.
The senior fired a 5-over par 77 to claim her second Mid-Southern Conference individual title. Old Capital Golf Club in Corydon played host to the event, which saw Smith use steady play to outlast the field.
Twelve pars made up Smith’s round of 18 holes. The front nine saw her only birdie of the day, which came on No. 8. Smith shied away from big numbers, only carding one double bogey.
Winning the individual honor didn’t come without a threat. Salem’s Brittney Walker was on Smith’s heels, finishing one shot back with a 78.
Backed by Smith’s 77, North Harrison placed third in the team standings with a 411. Amanda Barnett shot a 57 on the front nine but rallied for a stronger showing on the backside, shooting a 51 to total 108.
Also for the Lady Cats, Shena Johnson carded a round of 110. North Harrison teammates Jalisa Jones and Brittany McCarty shot identical 116s.
Corydon Central was in the hunt for the team title but fell short to Walker and the Lady Lions.
The Lady Panthers were led by seventh-place finisher Kennedy Nash, who closed the evening with a 91. She was followed by Taylor Frederick’s 94 and Marie Rothrock’s 97. The trio of Corydon Central golfers earned All-Conference for their efforts.
Kayla Uhl finished with a 103, good for honorable mention for Corydon Central. Also competing for the Lady Panthers was Cortlin Engleman, who carded a 115.
North Harrison and Corydon Central will return to competition Saturday when they tee off in the sectional tournament. New Albany will host the event, which will begin at 10 a.m. at Valley View Golf Club in Floyds Knobs.
Team results ‘ 1. Salem 372, 2. Corydon Central 385, 3. North Harrison 411, 4. Brownstown Central 415, 5. Silver Creek 419, 6. Charlestown 500, 7. Eastern (Pekin) 506, 8. Scottsburg 522 (Austin, Clarksville no team scores).
Individual results ‘ 1. Devan Smith (NH) 77, 2. Brittney Walker (Sa) 78, 3. Quincy Cooper (Cl) 83, 4. Jordan Stevens (BC) 89, 5. Charlotte Seaton (SiCr) 89, 6. Emily Motsinger (Sa) 91, 7. Kennedy Nash (CC) 91, 8. Taylor Frederick (CC) 94, 9. Nora Silence (BC) 96, 10. Marie Rothrock (CC) 97.