Posted on

Plans underway for bicentennial celebration

Indiana will celebrate 200 years of existence in 2016, and Corydon, the place where it all began, plans to be a special part of the celebration.
The Harrison County Committee for the Indiana Bicentennial has already conducted two meetings and plans another soon.
A committee structure was created including these segments to be represented: multi-cultural, business and industry, agriculture, historical, tourism, government, education, religious life, legacy and arts.
Pam Bennett Martin is the chair of the steering committee, Judy Hess is co-chair and Chris Fischer is secretary.
The celebration and commemoration group including Martin, Fischer, Hess, Ann Windell, Kathy Fischer, Dan Bays, Marian Pearcy, Maxine Brown and Leah Porter.
Anyone interested in joining the steering or celebration committee should send an e-mail to Martin at [email protected]
The religious life committee consists of Norma Lincoln, Chris Fischer and Lori Miller-Price. To join the committee, e-mail Miller-Price at mille[email protected]
The legacy group includes Pearcy, Hess, Bays and Karen Schwartz. To join, send Pearcy an e-mail at [email protected]
The arts committee includes Jean Schettler, Sheryl Scharf, Hess, Larry Moore and Porter. Send an e-mail to Schettler at [email protected] for more information about the arts committee.
The education committee consists of Bays, Chris Fischer, Lincoln and Linda Ray. Contact Bays by e-mail at [email protected] to join that committee.
Jim Epperson, president of the Harrison County Convention & Visitors Bureau, said all five committees have or soon will meet to organize and select leadership. A ‘wish list’ or plans from each committee will be discussed by the steering committee.
The large, full committee will only meet once a year to update the community, he said.
‘Meanwhile, working committees and the steering committee will maintain a regular meeting schedule as workload demands,’ Epperson said.