Posted on

IHSAA baseball pairings released

A field of 383 teams and 7,197 student-athletes will begin play next week as the pairings for the 46th annual IHSAA Baseball State Tournament Series were drawn last Tuesday in Indianapolis.
Sectional competition will begin Wednesday, May 23, and continue through Monday, May 28 (Memorial Day), with the 64 champions advancing to a four-team regional on Saturday, June 2. Two semifinal games will be played early that day at each site with the two winners returning for a championship game that evening. The 16 regional winners will be assigned to four semi-state sites and play a single game on Saturday, June 9, with the winners moving into their respective state championship games.
This year’s four state championship games, scheduled for Friday, June 15, and Saturday, June 16, will be played at Victory Field in Indianapolis.
The sectional draw for area teams are as follows:
Class 3A, Sectional 30 at Silver Creek
Wednesday, May 23
Game 1: North Harrison vs. Salem, 6 p.m.
Thursday, May 24
Game 2: Corydon Central vs. Scottsburg, 5 p.m.
Game 3: Silver Creek vs. Brownstown Central, 7:30 p.m.
Monday, May 28
Game 4: Charlestown vs. Game 1 winner, 11 a.m.
Game 5: Game 2 winner vs. Game 3 winner, 1:30 p.m.
Game 6: Championship, 6 p.m.
Class 2A, Sectional 46 at Providence
Wednesday, May 23
Game 1: Clarksville vs. Henryville, 5 p.m.
Game 2: Providence vs. Crawford County, 7 p.m.
Saturday, May 26
Game 3: Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner, 11 a.m.
Game 4: Paoli vs. Eastern (Pekin), 1 p.m.
Game 5: Championship, 7 p.m.
Class A, Sectional 62 at South Central
Saturday, May 26
Game 1: New Washington vs. Lanesville, 10 a.m.
Game 2: Borden vs. South Central, 12:30 p.m.
Game 3: Championship, 7 p.m.
In the latest Class 3A Indiana High School Baseball Coaches Association poll, North Harrison is ranked No. 5, Corydon Central No. 6 and Silver Creek No. 7. In Class A, South Central is ranked No. 5.
The second-named team in each pairing is the designated home team except when they advance by virtue of a bye. Exception: In six-team sectionals, the teams drawing the bye will play in the second semifinal game (Game 4) and will be the visitor in the championship game.
Admission to each baseball sectional is $5 per session or $8 season.