Posted on

Candidates finalized with late changes

A flurry of candidates made their way to the Harrison County Circuit Court Clerk’s office Friday morning in Corydon to sign up to run for office in the May Primary.
The deadline to file to run for office was at noon that day.
In the Harrison County Council at-large race, Republican Cathy McCarty signed up about 20 minutes before the deadline. But, McCarty withdrew her name Monday morning as did Republican Sherry Brown, who signed up in January. With McCarty and Brown deciding not to run, the Republican side of the at-large council race will not feature a contested primary as incumbent Jim Heitkemper, Doug Harkness and Marion Wallace will automatically advance to the November General Election.
The Democrats, with six council candidates, will have a primary to determine three November nominees. Friday morning, Corydon residents Gerald Saulman and Timothy Coffman joined Sheila Best, Leslie Robertson, Patricia Wolfe and incumbent Richard Gerdon.
In the District 1 commissioner race, Democrat incumbent James Goldman will be challenged in the General Election by Republican George Ethridge of New Salisbury. Ethridge is the owner of Golf Shores Family Fun Center in Corydon.
Republican Clayton Baylor of Lanesville also signed up Friday to run for surveyor. He will face fellow Republican Harold Klinstiver in the Primary.
Persons who wish to register to vote in the Primary or need to change their registration address or name must do so no later than 30 days prior to May 8. Those who have a valid Indiana driver’s license may complete the necessary paperwork online at The website also can be used to confirm voter registration and to find polling locations.
Here is a recap of the other county and state offices up for election and who has filed to run:
President ‘ Democrat incumbent Barack Obama and Republicans Mitt Romney, Newt Gingrich, Rick Santorum, Ron Paul and recently added Patricia Inez Sandifer
Indiana’s U.S. Senate seat ‘ Republican incumbent Richard Lugar, Republican Richard Mourdock, Democrat Joe Donnelly, Libertarian Andy Horning and Independent Jack Rooney
Indiana Ninth District Congressman ‘ Republican incumbent Todd Young and Democrats Jonathan George, John W. Tilford, John Griffin Miller and Robert Winningham
Governor ‘ Republicans Mike Pence and Jim Wallace, Democrats John Gregg and Thomas Lenfert and Libertarian Rupert Boneham
Indiana District 70 Rep. ‘ Republican incumbent Rhonda Rhoads and Democrats Terry Miller and Alva J. (Jim) Kincaid Jr.
Indiana District 73 Rep. ‘ Republican incumbent Steve Davisson and Democrat Sandra Blanton
Harrison County offices:
Commissioner District 2 ‘ Democrat incumbent Carl (Buck) Mathes, Democrat Scott Hussung and Republican Kenny Saulman
Coroner ‘ Democrat incumbent Rusty Sizemore and Republican Isaac Williams
Circuit Court Clerk ‘ Republican Sally Whitis and Democrat Rilla Gerdon
Recorder ‘ Republican incumbent Barbara Best and Democrat Debby Mathes
Also up for re-election is Attorney General Greg Zoeller and Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Bennett, both Republicans. Candidates for these two offices, as well as that of lieutenant governor, are nominated by their political parties at caucus meetings.
All three county school corporations will have their election in the fall, after a law was passed last year mandating elections be held in November. Previously, Lanesville and North Harrison Community School corporations had their elections in May.
For more information, contact Harrison County Clerk Sherry Brown at 738-8149 or by e-mail at [email protected]