Posted on

Election filing begins today

Beginning with the highest office in the land, President of the United States, many elected positions will be up for grabs this year in the primaries in May and the general election in November.
Filing begins today (Wednesday) and will end at noon Friday, Feb. 10. The third party deadline is in June. The primary election will be Tuesday, May 8, and the General Election will be Tuesday, Nov. 6.
Democrat Barack Obama is preparing to make a run for a second term as president, while his challenger has yet to emerge from a myriad of possibilities on the Republican side.
The first of many primary/caucuses took place Tuesday, Jan. 3, in Iowa, and Mitt Romney narrowly defeated Rick Santorum, by a mere eight votes out of more than 120,000 (24.6 percent to 24.5 percent). Ron Paul was a close third with 21.4 percent of the vote, while Newt Gingrich and Rick Perry also secured double-digit percentage points.
Indiana’s U.S. Senate seat, currently held by Republican Richard Lugar, will be on the ballot this year. Lugar will face competition in the primary from Richard Mourdock. U.S. Rep. Joe Donnelly of Granger will vie for the seat on the Democrat side. Also on the ballot will be Libertarian Andy Horning and Independent Jack Rooney.
Indiana Ninth District Congressman Todd Young, a Republican, will be up for re-election, and possible Democrat general election contenders will be Jonathan George, a former Air Force officer who served on the United States National Security Council with the Obama administration, and Robert Winningham, a former employee of former U.S. Rep. Lee Hamilton, who moved back to Indiana after a stint in Texas.
With Mitch Daniels unable to seek another term as governor due to term limits, that race will begin with primary battles between Republicans Mike Pence, a congressman from Columbus, and Jim Wallace, a businessman and former town councilman from Fishers; and Democrats John Gregg, an attorney and former Speaker of the Indiana House of Representatives from Sandborn, and Thomas Lenfert. Libertarian Rupert Boneham, an activist from Indianapolis and a former contestant on TV’s reality show ‘Survivor,’ will also run.
The lieutenant governor is elected on the same ticket as the governor.
Also up for re-election is Attorney General Greg Zoeller and Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Bennett, both Republicans.
Indiana District 70 Rep. Rhonda Rhoads’ seat, as well as fellow Republican Steve Davisson’s District 73 seat are up for re-election.
Locally, two commissioner district seats held by Democrats ‘ James Goldman, District 1, and Carl (Buck) Mathes, District 2 ‘ will be on the ballot. Corydon resident Kenny Saulman, a Republican, has announced his intent to vie for the District 2 seat.
Also on the ballot will be three at-large county council seats currently held by Democrats Chris Timberlake and Richard Gerdon and Republican Jim Heitkemper. Only Heitkemper has publicly pledged to seek re-election.
Other county offices on the ballot this year, with current officeholder in parenthesis, are: coroner (Democrat Rusty Sizemore), circuit court clerk (Republican Sherry Brown), surveyor (Republican Harold Klinstiver) and recorder (Republican Barbara Best).
Best said she intends to run for re-election, and Klinstiver said he will seek election after succeeding Tom Bube, who died in office in the summer of 2010. Sizemore, if he seeks the office again, will face a Republican challenger. One person to date, newcomer Isaac Williams, has publicly indicated his intention to run.
Brown is term-limited and cannot seek re-election.
All school board elections will be held in November.
Two positions will be open on the seven-member board of trustees for the South Harrison Community School Corp.: the Boone/ Taylor Township district, held by Ray (Radar) Lillpop, who is the board secretary, and the Harrison Township seat held by former teacher Larry Hauswald.
For the North Harrison Community School Corp., two of the five seats will be up for grabs: the Blue River Township seat currently held by Michael Beyerle and the Morgan Township seat held by Gerald (Jerry) Renneker.
Three of five seats on the Lanesville school board, those held by Robert (Bob) Schickel, Denzil McKim and Kenny Acton, will be on the ballot.
School trustees are non-partisan.