Posted on

Financial reports show costly election

In this day and age, it appears hard to successfully run a political campaign without significant financial backing. Some estimates have the total money spent on mid-term election campaigns nationwide to be anywhere from $4 billion to $6 billion.
At the national level, it’s especially important to raise money, but during this year’s General Election, that concept made its way to at least one state-level contest: the race for Indiana’s District 70 seat.
While the final campaign finance reports aren’t due until Jan. 19, candidates were required to turn in pre-election reports for contributions on or before Oct. 8.
Those reports show that Republican Rhonda Rhoads and Democrat incumbent Paul Robertson collected about $805,000 combined. Robertson accounted for more than half of that figure, with more than $443,000 to Rhoads’ approximately $362,000. Robertson’s report, however, included contributions up to Oct. 31, while Rhoads’ report only included those through Oct. 8.
The Indiana House Democratic Caucus led the contributions ‘ more than $193,000 ‘ to Robertson.
The Hoosiers For Economic Growth group, the Aiming Higher political action committee and the Indiana House Republican Campaign Committee accounted for about $254,000 of Rhoads’ coffers.
In the Harrison County sheriff’s race, sheriff-elect Rod Seelye, a Republican, raised just less than $13,000 between April 9 and Oct. 8, while Democrat Gary Gilley’s year-to-date total up to Oct. 8 was just under $20,000. (Seelye’s year-to-date column was not included in the report.)
In the prosecutor’s race, Democrat incumbent Dennis Byrd’s contributions nearly doubled Republican-elect Otto Schalk’s, almost $13,000 to nearly $7,000, respectively, from the April 10 to Oct. 8 time period.
Here is a look at some of the other contested races:
Circuit Judge ‘ Democrat Ron Simpson, just less than $10,000; Republican-elect John Evans, more than $4,500;
County Commissioner District 3 ‘ Democrat incumbent Terry Miller, about $2,600; Republican-elect Jim Klinstiver, $4,500;
County auditor ‘ Republican-elect Karen Engleman, more than $6,500; Democrat Heather Metcalf, just less than $4,000;
County treasurer ‘ Republican Teresa Sutton, less than $3,300; Democrat incumbent Carol Hauswald, who was re-elected, $530;
County council District 1 ‘ Democrat incumbent Leslie Robertson and Republican-elect Phil Smith, just more than $4,000 each;
County Council District 2 ‘ Republican-elect Gary Davis, just more than $3,200; Democrat Robert (Bob) Morris, about $3,600; and
County council District 4 ‘ Democrat incumbent Gordon Pendleton, who was re-elected, just more than $1,300; Republican Jeremy Shireman, $1,500.