Posted on

Bruce wins 2nd New Salisbury Member-ship

Bruce wins 2nd New Salisbury Member-ship
Bruce wins 2nd New Salisbury Member-ship
Matt Bruce tees off on No. 14 during second-round play of the New Salisbury Membership tournament Sunday. Brian Smith. (click for larger version)

Matt Bruce won a one-hole playoff Sunday to capture his second consecutive New Salisbury Membership title.
The two-day tournament went to a playoff when Bruce made a birdie on No. 17. His birdie, combined with Ross Schulz’s par, drew the competitors even at 5-over par. On the short par-4 18th hole, both parred after solid tee shots.
Bruce and Schulz finished the 36-hole tournament with 145s. The two then went to a hole-by-hole playoff, starting at No. 1. Off the tee, both landed in the middle of the fairway of the dogleg right hole. Bruce found the green with his second shot and eventually made par, while Schulz missed the green and took a bogey.
‘I hit four bad drives on the first hole over both days,’ Bruce said. ‘Then, finally, I put a good one out there in the fairway. That shot gave me confidence, then I made a good second shot.’
Bruce fired a 73 on Saturday and made up three shots Sunday on Schulz. Schulz scored the lowest round on Saturday, an even-par 70.
‘Ross shot well all weekend,’ Bruce said. ‘For me, it came down to that birdie on 17.’
Chris Worrall made a late run at the two leaders. He had the best Sunday round, a 71, to finish one shot back with a 146 total. Finishing fourth was Alan Reed with a 147. Jared Arledge and Kyle Mattingly tied for fifth with 148s. Rounding out the championship flight was Steve Beanblossom (150), Michael Rigot (150) and Cole Duffy (153).
In the first flight, L.C. Nash was the winner with a 160. The second flight went to Rob Higdon, carding a 167. The third flight went to Steve Shaffer with a 181.
In the ladies’ division, Allison Dooley came out ahead, carding a 160.
The junior championship was won by Chase Spencer (158), and the senior flight winner was Joe Hinton (160).
The New Salisbury Invitational is slated for Aug. 7 and 8.

Championship flight ‘ 1. M. Bruce 145*, 2. R. Schulz 145, 3. C. Worrall 146, 4. A. Reed 147, 5t. J. Arledge 148, 5t. K. Mattingly 148, 7t. S. Beanblossom 150, 7t. M. Rigot 150, 9. C. Duffy 153.
First flight ‘ 1. L.C. Nash 160, 2. J. Hinton 162, 3. G. Stackhouse 163, 4t. N. Morris 164, 4t. Z. Davis 164, 6. L. Long 167, 7t. R. Dooley WD, 7t. A. Dones WD.
Second flight ‘ 1. R. Higdon 167, 2t. D. Spencer 168, 2t. B. Trevree 168, 4. T. Beavers 171, 5. M. Wetzel 172, 6. B. Hinton 175, 7. H. Shafer 177, 8. K. Lance 177.
Third flight ‘ 1. S. Shaffer 181, 2. D.J. Morris 195, 3. M. Craig 216.
Ladies’ flight ‘ 1. A. Dooley 160, 2. D. Smith 187, 3. K. Brunner 203.
Junior flight ‘ 1. C. Spencer 158, 2. J. Shaffer 208, 3t. M. Vanlandingham WD, 3t. E. Langacre WD.
Senior flight ‘ 1. J. Hinton 160, 2. P. Nardroff 169, 3. G. Smith 172, 4. T. Smith 175, 5. J. Neuman 176, 6. J. Melton 197.
* won 1 hole playoff