Posted on

16 witnesses set for grand jury

A list of 16 witnesses scheduled to appear before a special grand jury in the sexual harassment case against Harrison County Sheriff G. Michael Deatrick has been released.
In addition to the two accusers, Missie Graham and Deana Decker, a trio of Indiana State Police employees ‘ Det. Dave Mitchell, Sgt. Sean Clemmons and cyber crimes Det. Jennifer Barnes ‘ were named on the witness list in Harrison Superior Court on Oct. 30.
Other witnesses include Harrison County Police Chief Joyce Deatrick and officers John Dismang and Gary Gilley; Major Bob Stem, who heads the reserves at the Harrison County Sheriff’s Department, and reserve officers Michael Gregory and James Claybrooke; former dispatcher Ashley Miller; former jail commander Bruce LaHue; and John Travelstead and Phillip Miller of Dallmann Systems, which supplies video surveillance equipment at the Harrison County Justice Center. The final name on the list is Janette Rigdon, who was identified as a friend of one of the victims.
The special grand jury, which will hear testimony in closed-door hearings on Nov. 23 through 25, Nov. 30, and Dec. 2 and 4, was called by special prosecutor Nancy Jacobs of Switzerland County to review the case of allegations of sexual harassment by Deatrick against dispatcher Deana Decker and former dispatcher Missie Graham.
The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission reviewed the women’s discrimination complaints and later, along with the U.S. Justice Department, sued Deatrick and Harrison County. That action was settled in June by the county for $375,500, a settlement Decker and Graham split.