Posted on

Filing deadline Friday at noon

With the deadline to file to appear on the ballot for the Primary Election approaching, potential candidates for the May 6 Primary continue to toss their hats into the political ring.
The deadline to file is noon Friday.
Here are the candidates who have filed so far (* indicates incumbents):
U.S. President ‘ Barack Obama, Democrat; Mike Huckabee, Republican; John McCain, Republican; and Mitt Romney, Republican.
Indiana Governor ‘ *Mitch Daniels, Republican.
U.S. Representative Ninth District ‘ John R. Bottorff, Democrat; Gretchen Clearwater, Democrat; *Baron P. Hill, Democrat; Lendall B. Terry, Democrat; Mike Sodrel, Republican.
State Representative District 70 ‘ *Paul J. Robertson, Democrat; Tim Hunt, Republican.
State Representative District 73 ‘ *Dennie Oxley, Democrat; Steve Davisson, Republican.
County Commissioner District 1 ‘ *James Goldman, Democrat; Ed Emily, Democrat; Adam Uhl, Democrat.
County Commissioner District 2 ‘ Carl (Buck) Mathes, Democrat; Donald Mathes, Democrat; Rhonda Rhoads, Republican.
County Council, at-large ‘ *Chris Timberlake, Democrat; Richard Gerdon, Democrat; Kyle Byrne, Democrat; Carol Johnson Smith, Democrat; Jim Heitkemper, Republican; Marion Wallace, Republican.
Superior Court Judge ‘ *Roger D. Davis, Democrat; Leah Fink, Democrat; John T. Evans, Republican.
County Circuit Court Clerk ‘ Barbara Mathes, Democrat; *Sherry Brown, Republican.
County Coroner ‘ Russell Sizemore, Democrat; Richard McKinstry, Democrat; *Steve Hamm, Republican.
County Recorder ‘ Steve Arnold, Democrat; Carole Gaither, Democrat; Barbara Best, Republican.
County Surveyor ‘ Tom Bube, Republican.
Also in the May 6 Primary, residents in the Lanesville and North Harrison Community School corporations will elect school board members. (South Harrison Community School Corp. holds its election in the fall as part of the General Election.) School board members are non-partisan.
Lanesville will elect three at-large seats, while North Harrison will elect one representative each for Blue River and Morgan townships.
Candidates who had filed as of yesterday afternoon were (* indicates incumbents):
Lanesville school board ‘ *Denzil McKim.
North Harrison school board ‘ *Buddy Bosler, Blue River Township.
The deadline to withdraw from the ballot is noon on Monday, Feb. 25.