Posted on

Filings underway for 2008 election

The May 6 Primary is little more than three months away, but already the election is garnering attention from potential candidates.
The first possible date to file for candidacy was Jan. 23, and as of yesterday (Tuesday), many incumbents had filed for a chance to stay in their current positions.
A few familiar names are trying their luck as candidates for other positions.
Barbara Mathes, the current county recorder, has filed to run against incumbent Sherry Brown for the position of circuit court clerk. Rhonda Rhoads currently sits on the county council, but according to filings, she’s running for the District 2 county commissioner seat.
The deadline to file to appear on the ballot for the primary election is Friday, Feb. 22, at noon. Candidates so far are (* indicates incumbents):
U.S. Representative Ninth District ‘ John R. Bottorff, Democrat; Lendall B. Terry, Democrat; Mike Sodrel, Republican.
State Representative District 70 ‘ *Paul J. Robertson, Democrat.
County commissioner District 1 ‘ *James Goldman, Democrat.
County commissioner District 2 ‘ Rhonda Rhoads, Republican.
County council, at-large ‘ *Chris Timberlake, Democrat.
Superior Court Judge ‘ Roger Davis, Democrat; John T. Evans, Republican.
County Circuit Court Clerk ‘ Barbara Mathes, Democrat.; *Sherry Brown, Republican.
County coroner ‘ Russell Sizemore, Democrat.
County recorder ‘ Steve Arnold, Democrat; Carole Gaither, Democrat.
As of yesterday, no one had filed for county surveyor or State Representative for District 73.
Also, Lanesville and North Harrison Community School corporations will elect school trustees in the primary. (South Harrison Community School Corp. holds its election in the November General Election.)
At press time yesterday, only Buddy Bosler had filed as a candidate. He currently holds the Blue River Township seat on the North Harrison school board. The Morgan Township seat, currently held by Ronald Coleman, is also up for election this spring in the North Harrison school district.
In Lanesville, three seats are up for re-election. Those seats are at-large and are currently filled by Robert Schickel, Mark Wernert and Denzil McKim.
The deadline to withdraw from the ballot is Monday, Feb. 25, by noon.