Posted on

‘Excellence in Education’ Celebration will recognize scholarship winners

The Chamber of Commerce of Harrison County will recognize its scholarship winners during the Excellence in Education Celebration on Thursday, July 19, at Caesars Indiana.
The four graduates from Harrison County schools selected to receive a $500 scholarship from the Chamber are Daniel Alan Senechal, Lanesville Junior-Senior High School; Lucas James Taylor, Corydon Central High School; Justine Carol Huffman, South Central Junior-Senior High School; and Ellen Marie Hall of North Harrison High School.
Announcement of the winners was made at the respective schools’ awards nights programs by members of the Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. The scholarships are made possible through an endowment that was established with the Harrison County Community Foundation in 2001 by donations from Chamber members.
The Excellence in Education Celebration is an expansion of the previously held scholarship luncheon. It will begin at 6 p.m. in the Colosseum at Caesars Indiana. The public is urged to attend. Tickets are $10 per person and are available at First Harrison Bank in Corydon and Palmyra, Community First Bank’s main branch, Harrison REMC, the Blaine H. Wiseman Visitor Center, Kochert Insurance, Harrison County Public Library, the administration offices for North Harrison, South Harrison and Lanesville Community School corporations, The Farmers State Bank in Elizabeth and the Chamber of Commerce office in Corydon.
During the celebration, there will be a first-time recognition of five outstanding educators from the Harrison County school systems.