Posted on

Party politicians fill some vacancies on fall ballot

Both political parties appointed candidates by Monday’s noon deadline to have their names appear on the ballot of the November General Election.
Appointments could be made in races where the party had no candidate during the May 2 Primary Election.
Harrison County Circuit Court Clerk Sherry Brown said the Harrison County Republican Central Committee appointed Karen Shireman Engleman to run for auditor, an office she previously held for two terms in the 1990s, against incumbent Patricia Wolfe. Bruce Fry was nominated to run against J. Gordon Pendleton for the District 3 seat of the Harrison County Council, which is being vacated by Kenny Saulman.
The Republicans also appointed Steve Camenisch to challenge Jackson Township Trustee Joseph E. Martin.
The only other appointment for a township trustee race was made by the Harrison County Democrat Central Committee. They appointed Steve Smith to challenge Kimberly Wiseman for the Posey Township Trustee position, which was recently vacated by Democrat Debbie Karcher. Smith is completing her term.
Brown said the only additional appointments made Monday involved township advisory boards. They are as follows:
Blue River ‘ Republicans Fred Churchill and Christian Mott.
Harrison ‘ Republican Larry Harmon.
Heth ‘ Republicans Barbara Timberlake and Gary Wiseman.
Morgan ‘ Republican Bill Abel.
Posey ‘ Democrats Christopher Cunningham, Keith Sallee and Matt Miller.
Washington ‘ Republicans Stefanie Bliss and Melissa Shaffer.
Webster ‘ Democrat Danny McPhillips.
With the exception of the South Harrison Community School Corp. board of trustees, the stage has been set for the Nov. 7 election.
Candidate filing for the South Harrison school board, which is nonpartisan, begins Wednesday, July 26. The deadline to file is noon on Friday, Aug. 25. Four seats in that school corporation are up for reelection, one each in Districts 1 and 5, and two in District 4.