Posted on

Skillman to keynote female Philanthropist of Year buffet

Their backgrounds are varied, but common themes and descriptors emerge as six Southern Indiana counties unite to honor a Woman Philanthropist of the Year.
Enhancing lives where they live and beyond, the 2006 honorees ‘ including Carolyn Sue Sanders of Harrison County and Bonnie Powers of Crawford County ‘ epitomize service, support, shining examples, selflessness and initiative.
The public is invited to join the Southern Indiana Women in Philanthropy Regional Celebration, ‘Giving from the Heart,’ from 10:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Saturday, March 11, at Caesars Indiana in Bridgeport. Guests will enjoy an extensive breakfast and luncheon buffet and program with emcee Melissa Swan of WHAS-TV 11. The guest speaker is Indiana Lt. Gov. Becky Skillman.
The second annual gala fetes the following giants besides Sanders and Powers in contributing time, talents and financial resources: Dr. Dorothy Lewis, Clark County; Dr. Claudia Crump, Floyd County; Margaret Murray, Orange County and Rebecca Marshall, Washington County.
This year’s honorees were selected by committees independent of each county’s foundation, according to chair Bonita Embry Coots, executive director of the Community Foundation of Crawford County. Each honoree will receive a Swarovski-designed crystal brooch donated by Bob and Jean Caesar, owners of J.O. Endris Jewelers in New Albany, one of the sponsors of the event. Other sponsors are Caesars Indiana, Caesars Foundation of Floyd County, National City bank, First Harrison Bank, Your Community Bank and Aebersold Florist.
Hosted jointly by community foundations that serve those counties, the inaugural event last year drew more than 400 people. A sell-out crowd of 500 is expected this year, according to Coots. She reports that requests for seats have been brisk even before the official opening of reservations, and that seats will be sold on a first come- first served basis.
Reservations are $15 for individuals and $300 for a table of 10 for corporate sponsors who will receive preferred seating.
The public may reserve seats by stopping by or calling any of the following sponsoring foundations by the Wednesday, March 1 deadline: Community Foundation of Crawford County, 633-2077; Community Foundation of Southern Indiana, Clark, Floyd, and Harrison, 1-812-948-4662 or toll-free at 1-888-388-2374; Harrison County Community Foundation, 738-6668; Orange County Community Foundation, 723-4150; or Washington County Community Foundation, 1-812-883-7334.
In addition to having earned impressive distinctions in a wide range of arenas, the following honorees have had a major impact on their communities and citizens of all ages.