Posted on

Beaven and Schoen named best players in the MSC, SAC

Corydon Central senior forward Dana Beaven was the lone, unanimous No. 1 pick by opposing coaches last week for the all-Mid-Southern Conference basketball team.
South Central freshman Brittany Schoen, who was the leading freshman scorer in the state this past season at just under 22 points a game, was her league’s Most Outstanding Player as well.
Joining Beaven for all-MSC honors were teammates Stannye Wolfe and Megan Bates, both juniors.
Beaven averaged 17.7 points and seven rebounds and shot nearly 60 percent from the field this past season in leading the Lady Panthers to the Class 3A state championship game two weeks ago.
Corydon head coach Michael Uhl was named Coach Of The Year, as well.
North Harrison’s Tara Miller, whose season ended when she tore her anterior cruciate ligament in the second game of the year, was also selected to the all-MSC team.
Rounding out the all-conference girls squad were Kristin Edwards and Stephanie Bridgewater (Scottsburg), Kayla Rieckers and Cassidy Lambring (Brownstown Central), Kelsie Thrasher and LaTonya Lloyd (Charlestown) and Allison Jackson (Silver Creek).
On the boys’ side, Brownstown’s Dave Benter was selected by his peers as Coach Of The Year.
Scottsburg’s Dustin Marshall garnered more votes than any other player in the conference and was joined on the all-MSC team by Jared Comer.
North Harrison’s Cory Beach was the only player from either North or Corydon Central selected to the list.
The remaining team members are: Eric Parker and Chandler Lambring (Brownstown Central), Jeremy Holland (Austin), Anthony Adkins (Eastern), Kyle Barnett (Silver Creek), Chad Nelson (Salem) and Alex Hall (Charlestown).
Four players and one coach from Harrison County received top honors for their efforts this past girls basketball season in the Southern Athletic Conference.
Leading the way were father-daughter and coach/player duo Randall Schoen and Brittany Schoen from South Central.
Coach Schoen repeated as Coach Of The Year while Brittany Schoen was named the league’s Most Outstanding Player.
Fellow Lady Rebel and the team’s only senior ‘ southpaw Samantha Troutman ‘ received the second-most votes as an All-SAC team member.
Lanesville’s Allison Horton and Meagan VanHoose were selected to the all-conference squad as well.
South won the league title with a 5-0 mark, followed by New Washington (4-1), Lanesville (3-2), Borden (2-3), Crothersville (1-4) and Henryville (0-5).
The Southern Athletic Conference began with the 1978-79 season, and up until the 2002-2003 campaign, the Lady Rebels had never won a league championship in girls basketball.
They’ve since won three consecutive conference titles with perfect 5-0 marks.
Rounding out the all-SAC team were Erin Mohler and Liz Otte (Crothersville), Jillian Charlet and Kaelin Tuell (New Washington), Sarah Allen (Borden) and Kayla Aguirre (Henryville).