Posted on

Primary Election day details

Tuesday is the Primary Election; the polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Harrison County Circuit Clerk Carole Gaither said there is still an opportunity to vote by absentee ballot during normal courthouse hours until noon Monday.
Meanwhile, the east door of the Harrison County Court House will be open Saturday from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. for voters to come to the clerk’s office to vote absentee.
Also on Saturday, inspectors will pick up items they need for election day, Gaither said. ‘It will be a busy place Saturday,’ she said.
There is still time for elderly persons who can’t leave their residences to complete an application requesting the traveling board come to them so they can vote. Gaither said persons who want to vote this way should call her office at 738-4289.
The courthouse is accessible to the handicapped, Gaither said. The County Annex Building at 124 S. Mulberry St. in Corydon has been designated as the handicap-accessible polling place for Tuesday, although the other polling places should accommodate persons who can’t climb stairs.
Voting inspectors will check polling places throughout the day on Tuesday to make sure they are acceptable for voters who are visually or hearing impaired or have other handicaps.
Regardless of where a person is voting, they are asked to bring their voter registration card and their driver’s license, or some other form of identification, with them. If a voter doesn’t have a driver’s license, he or she should bring their utility bill or other document that has their address on it.
Candidates or their workers are reminded that campaign literature must be kept at least 50 feet from the door of the polling place, Gaither said.
Absentee voting is down from the Primary Election two years ago, Gaither said. On Friday, just over 200 absentee ballots had been cast. In 2002, about 800 voters cast absentee ballots.
Gaither is hoping that the rest of the county’s 35,000 or so registered voters will go to the polls on Tuesday.
‘Let’s have a good turnout,’ she said.
Despite the renovation work being done at the Harrison County Court House, the facility will be open to the public Tuesday night for those interested in the election results.
Gaither said the Harrison County Commissioners have told the workers to have tools and other items cleared from the hallways for Tuesday night.
‘It will be dusty and dirty, though,’ Gaither said.
The Commissioners’ Room on the first floor, as well as the circuit courtroom on the third floor will be open for persons to wait for returns.
Gaither said the Harrison County Democratic Central Committee will have someone updating results at their party headquarters on East Chestnut Street.

Polling places, listed below by precinct, will be open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Tuesday, May 4, for eligible voters:

Blue River Township, North ‘ North Blue River Baptist Church, Depauw;
Blue River Township, South ‘ Senior Citizens Meeting Hall, Milltown;
Boone Township, East and West ‘ Fire House, Laconia;
Franklin Township, North and Central ‘ Franklin Township Athletic Club, Lanesville;
Franklin Township, South ‘ Methodist Church Hall, Lanesville;
Harrison Township, Corydon East and Southeast Harrison ‘ County Annex Building, Corydon;
Harrison Township, Corydon West and North Harrison ‘ VFW Hall, Corydon;
Harrison Township, East Harrison ‘ Corydon Christian Church;
Harrison Township, West Harrison ‘ Corydon Fire House;
Harrison Township, Northeast Harrison ‘ St. Joseph Hall, Corydon;
Harrison Township, Southwest Harrison ‘ Indiana Utilities, Corydon;
Heth Township, East ‘ Fire House, Central;
Heth Township, West ‘ Fire House, Mauckport;
Jackson Township, Northeast and Southwest ‘ Ramsey Fire House #2, New Salisbury;
Jackson Township, Northwest ‘ Ramsey Fire House #1, Ramsey;
Jackson Township, Southeast ‘ Community Center, Crandall;
Morgan Township, Northwest ‘ Conservation Hall, Palmyra;
Morgan Township, Northeast and South ‘ St. Michael’s Parish Hall, Bradford;
Posey Township, Northeast ‘ Bethesda Fellowship Hall, Elizabeth;
Posey Township, Southeast ‘ Presbyterian Church of the Covenant, Elizabeth;
Posey Township, West ‘ American Legion Post, Elizabeth;
Spencer Township, North ‘ Unity Chapel United Methodist Church, Ramsey;
Spencer Township, South ‘ Fountain United Methodist Church Community Building, Corydon;
Taylor Township, North ‘ South Central Junior-Senior High School, Elizabeth;
Taylor Township, South ‘ Evans Landing Church, Evans Knob Road;
Washington Township, North and South ‘ Old Methodist Church, New Amsterdam, and
Webster Township, East and West ‘ Fellowship Hall, Bethany Church.
For more information, contact the Harrison County Circuit Clerk’s office at 738-4289.